Public Release: 

EMBO announces 52 new members for 2013


Heidelberg, 21 May 2013 - EMBO announced today that 52 outstanding researchers in the life sciences were newly elected to its membership. Forty-three of the researchers reside in Europe and neighboring countries and are accompanied by the election of nine Associate Members from Canada, China, India, Japan and the United States. The EMBO membership currently comprises around 1600 life scientists.

"Our members are the basis for the international reputation of our organisation," EMBO Director Maria Leptin said. "We have been building our network of members for almost 50 years and the EMBO membership is the foundation for our future growth and achievements. I look forward to the fresh input and ideas that the new EMBO members will bring to the organisation."

The most recent scientists to join the EMBO membership come from 15 different countries and include 16 female scientists.

EMBO Members make invaluable contributions to the organization by providing suggestions and feedback on the activities of EMBO. They serve on selection committees for EMBO programmes and mentor young scientists. Their input has helped to promote excellence in life sciences since 1964.

Newly elected members and associate members are:


Andrew P. Jackson, United Kingdom

Anne Bertolotti, United Kingdom

Anne Eichmann, France

Anne Houdusse, France

Anu Suomalainen, Finland

Asifa Akhtar, Germany

Buzz Baum, United Kingdom

Christoph Dehio, Switzerland

Daniel Metzger, France

Deborah Fass, Israel

Eileen Furlong, Germany

Elena Cattaneo, Italy

Fiona Powrie, United Kingdom

Françoise Stutz, Switzerland

Frank Bradke, Germany

Gérard Eberl, France

Gioacchino Natoli, Italy

Herwig Baier, Germany

Iris Salecker, United Kingdom

Isabel Fariñas Gómez, Spain

John van der Oost, the Netherlands

Kaspar Locher, Switzerland

Ketan Patel, United Kingdom

Kostas Tokatlidis, United Kingdom

Lars Steinmetz, Germany

Luciano Di Croce, Spain

Luis Aragón, United Kingdom

Marileen Dogterom, the Netherlands

Matthias Merkenschlager, United Kingdom

Michael Boutros, Germany

Nicholas Luscombe, United Kingdom

Nicholas Talbot, United Kingdom

Paloma Más, Spain

Peter Scheiffele, Switzerland

Peter Šebo, Czech Republic

Petra Schwille, Germany

Piet Gros, the Netherlands

Ramanujan Hegde, United Kingdom

Roger Goody, Germany

Roland Lill, Germany

Rosario Rizzuto, Italy

Shahragim Tajbakhsh, France

Wolfgang Zachariae, Germany


Bonnie L. Bassler, United States

Eugene V. Koonin, United States

Jyayang Li, China

Satyajit (Jitu) Mayor, India

Ruslan M. Medzhitov, United States

Andre Nussenzweig, United States

Yoshinori Ohsumi, Japan

Yigong Shi, China

Nahum Sonenberg, Canada


About EMBO

EMBO stands for excellence in the life sciences. The organization enables the best science by supporting talented researchers, stimulating scientific exchange and advancing policies for a world-class European research environment.

EMBO is an organization of almost 1600 leading life scientist members that fosters new generations of researchers to produce world-class scientific results. EMBO helps young scientists to advance their research, promote their international reputations and ensure their mobility. Courses, workshops, conferences and scientific journals disseminate the latest research and offer training in cutting-edge techniques to maintain high standards of excellence in research practice. EMBO helps to shape science and research policy by seeking input and feedback from our community and by following closely the trends in science in Europe.

Media contacts

Barry Whyte
Head, EMBO Public Relations & Communications
Yvonne Kaul
Communications Officer
P: +49 6221 8891 108/111

For more information:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.