Public Release: 

The North American Menopause Society recognizes contributions to the field of menopause

2013 award and scholarship recipients announced

The North American Menopause Society (NAMS)

CLEVELAND (August 28, 2013) -- The North American Menopause Society (NAMS) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Society's 2013 awards. The awards are given in recognition of exceptional contributions to menopause research, practice, and education; community service; and media. They provide special educational opportunities for physicians and Doctors in Nursing Practice (DNPs) who are just beginning promising careers that will give special attention to the care of midlife women. Recipients will be acknowledged during the 2013 NAMS Annual Meeting in Dallas, TX (October 9-12).

Awards will be presented to 51 recipients. Three will be recognized for their clinical, research, and humanitarian contributions. One NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) will be named NCMP of the Year. Another award is being presented for the best paper published in 2012 in the Society's journal, Menopause. And, a member of the media will be honored for expanding knowledge about midlife women's health.

Other awards will single out four early career investigators for their Annual Meeting abstract submissions, and NAMS also will recognize medical residents who have demonstrated excellence in the field of menopause. In addition, 30 medical residents, fellows, and DNPs-in-Training have been awarded scholarships to attend the Annual Meeting and participate in two special educational events with veteran menopause practitioners during the meeting.

In 2012, the first NAMS member-initiated endowment was established. Named in honor of long-time NAMS member Irwin J. Kerber, MD, NCMP, from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, this scholarship provides a NAMS membership to one medical resident each year. The recipient of the scholarship this year is Chelsi M. Jackson, MD.

"These NAMS awards and scholarships represent the Society's commitment to enhancing women's health," says NAMS Executive Director Margery L.S. Gass, MD, NCMP. "In honoring these outstanding recipients, the Society strongly confirms its role in encouraging and acknowledging quality care for women and its commitment to nurturing young careers in the field of women's health. We extend a special thank you to Teva Women's Health for supporting the Medical Resident and Fellow Awards, to Pfizer Inc for their support of the Reporter Program, and to Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, publisher of Menopause, for supporting the Best Paper Award."

Recipients of the 2013 NAMS awards and scholarships are:

NAMS/Thomas B. Clarkson Outstanding Clinical and Basic Science Research Award
Recognizing a NAMS member's outstanding menopause-related clinical or basic science research:
James H. Pickar, MD, FACOG--Bulger, PA

NAMS/Leon Speroff Outstanding Educator Award
Recognizing a NAMS member's excellence in menopause-related education of clinicians or the general public:
William A. Hohman, MD, FACOG, NCMP--Newark, DE

NAMS/Ann Voda Community Service Award
Recognizing a healthcare provider within the NAMS membership who has demonstrated outstanding community service:
Susan G. Murrmann, MD--Memphis, TN

NAMS Menopause Practitioner of the Year Award
Recognizing one current NAMS Certified Menopause Practitioner (NCMP) for outstanding service to his/her patients:
Barbara J. DePree, MD, NCMP--Holland, MI

NAMS Media Award
Recognizing one media professional whose body of work, through any consumer media outlet, has served to expand the knowledge and understanding of menopause:
Machelle M. Seibel, MD--Worcester, MA
Health Rock®, My Menopause Magazine

NAMS/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Best Paper of the Year Award
Recognizing the best paper published in Menopause in 2012:
Bruce Ettinger, MD--San Francisco, CA
Evolution of postmenopausal hormone therapy between 2002 and 2009
(Menopause. 2012;19[6]:610-615)

2013 NAMS New Investigator Awards
Recognizing the outstanding abstract submissions from four investigators who have achieved their degree within the past seven years:
Rebecca Brotman, PhD, MPH--Baltimore, MD
Ha Dang, MD--Los Angeles, CA
Ensieh Fooladi, MSc--Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Amanda Tyndall, BSc--Calgary, AB, Canada

2013 NAMS/Teva Women's Health Medical Residents Excellence Awards
Recognizing physicians who are currently in their residencies or fellowships in obstetrics and gynecology or primary care:
Lusine Aghajanova, MD, PhD--San Francisco, CA
Asima Ahmad, MD, MPH--New Haven, CT
Katharine C. Barnes, MD--Boston, MA
Catha Fischer, MD--New Haven, CT
Erin V. MacLellan, MD--Hamilton, ON, Canada
Kelsey E. Mills, MD--Toronto, ON, Canada
Jessica Rollings-Scattergood, MD--Hamilton, ON, Canada
Prathima Setty, MD, FACOG--New York, NY
Aleksander Stanic-Kostic, MD, PhD--Boston, MA

2013 NAMS/Pfizer Inc Medical Resident, Fellow, and DNP In-Training Reporters
Recognizing medical residents, fellows, or DNPs-in-Training (doctors in nursing practice) with a special interest in midlife women's health. These individuals have been asked to provide a presentation to their colleagues after the meeting about what they learned.
Tanya E. Anim, MD--Daytona Beach, FL
David Banh, MD--Dallas, TX
Leigh Ann Breckenridge, DNP(C), FNP-C, MSN, RN--Memphis, TN
Kathleen Chin, MD, MS, FACOG--Dallas, TX
Kara Ann Ehlers, MD--Dallas, TX
Rayan Elkattah, MD--Johnson City, TN
Elizabeth P. Gurney, MD--New York, NY
Katheryn Isham, MD--Greenville, SC
Kenneth W. Kaufmann, MD, MSE--St. Petersburg, FL
Kelsey Kelso, MD--Temple, TX
Penny Lamascus, DNP(C), WHNP-BC, ANP-C--Murfreesboro, TN
Daniel A. Lee, MD--Memphis, TN
Eunice Lee, MD--Allentown, PA
Patricia Lo, MD--Newark, DE
Heather McCarthy, DNP(C), BSN, RN-BC--Memphis, TN
Erin McNulty, MD--Overland Park, KS
Virginia A. Mensah, MD--Baltimore, MD
Shelby E. Osborne, DO--Memphis, TN
Manasa Patna, MD, MPH--Boston, MA
Molly M. Quinn, MD--San Francisco, CA
R. Mimi Secor, DNP(C), NP, FAANP--Onset, MA
Starr Steinhilber, MD, MPH--Birmingham, AL
Semara A. Thomas, MD--Charlottesville, VA
Tracy C. Timmer, FNP-C, WHNP/DNP(C)--Schertz, TX
Elizabeth Uyen Tran, MD--Houston, TX
Aileen T. Twomey, DNP(C), NP, RN, MSN--Allendale, NJ
Adeline M. Wakeman, DNP, ARNP--Seattle, WA
Brianna S. Whittemore, MD--Little Rock, AR

The Society extends its congratulations to all of this year's outstanding recipients.


The Mission of NAMS, a nonprofit scientific organization, is to promote the health and quality of life of all women during midlife and beyond through an understanding of menopause and healthy aging. The Society's membership of 2,000 professionals representing a variety of disciplines--including clinical and basic science experts from medicine, nursing, pharmacy, anthropology, sociology, psychology, and complementary/alternative medicine--makes NAMS uniquely qualified to serve as the definitive resource for health professionals and the public for accurate, unbiased information about menopause. (

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.