Public Release: 

MARC travel awards announced for the 2013 SACNAS meeting

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Bethesda, MD - FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the 2013 Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS) annual meeting in San Antonio, TX from October 3-6, 2013. These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, postdoctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the SACNAS annual meeting.

Awards are given to poster/platform presenters and faculty mentors paired with the students/trainees they mentor. This year MARC conferred 7 awards totaling $12,950.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented minorities engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.


Dr. Thomas Landefeld, California State University, Dominguez Hills [ENDO member]
Aldo Alvarez, California State University, Dominguez Hills
Dr. Catherine Opere, Creighton University [ASPET member]
Lauren Murphy-Moore, Creighton University
Dr. Juan Ramirez, University of Puerto Rico, Arecibo
Violeta Rivera, University of Puerto Rico, Arecibo
Sharelye Marrero, University of Puerto Rico, Arecibo


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.