Public Release: 

MARC travel awards announced for the 2013 American Society for Human Genetics meeting

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Bethesda, MD - FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the 2013 American Society for Human Genetics (ASHG) annual meeting in Boston, MA from October 22-26, 2013. These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, postdoctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the ASHG annual meeting.

Awards are given to poster/platform presenters and faculty mentors paired with the students/trainees they mentor. This year MARC conferred 21 awards totaling $38,850.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented minorities engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.


Elinette Albino, Ponce School of Medicine [ASBMB member]
Kinsley Belle, University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine [ASHG member]
Randi Burns, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor
Monique Courtenay, University of Miami [ASHG member]
Michael Gonzalez, University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine [ASHG member]
Wenndy Hernandez, University of Chicago
James Hicks, University of Miami [ASHG member]
Crystal Humphries, University of Miami [ASHG member]
Catherine Igartua, University of Chicago
Latifa Jackson, Drexel University [ASHG member]
Janina Jeff, Ichan School of Medicine at Mount Sinai [ASHG member]
Danjuma Quarless, University of California, San Diego [ASHG member]
Nicole Restrepo, Vanderbilt University [ASHG member]
Ronnie Sebro, University of California, San Francisco [ASHG member]
Hira Shabbir, University of Florida
Krystal Tsosie, Vanderbilt University [ASHG member]
Virginia Ware, Northern Arizona University
Marquitta White, Vanderbilt University [ASHG member]


Dr. Nadeem Fazal, Chicago State University [ASHG member]
Osayi Ikponmwosa, Chicago State University
Mohammed Diabor, Chicago State University


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.