Public Release: 

American Mathematical Society to award prizes

American Mathematical Society

Providence, RI---On Thursday, January 16, 2014, the American Mathematical Society will award several major prizes at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Baltimore. Included are two prizes given jointly with two other mathematics organizations, the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), as well as one award given by the Joint Policy Board for Mathematics (JPBM).

AMS Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement: PHILLIP A. GRIFFITHS, Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, for his contributions to our fundamental knowledge in mathematics, particularly algebraic geometry, differential geometry, and differential equations.

AMS Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition: DMITRI BURAGO, Pennsylvania State University; and YURI BURAGO and SERGEI IVANOV, St. Petersburg Department of the Steklov Institute of Mathematics of the Russian Academy of Sciences, for their book A Course in Metric Geometry (American Mathematical Society, 2001), in recognition of excellence in exposition and promotion of fruitful ideas in geometry.

AMS Steele Prize for a Seminal Contribution to Research: LUIS CAFFARELLI, University of Texas, Austin; and ROBERT KOHN and LOUIS NIRENBERG, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, for their paper "Partial Regularity for Suitable Weak Solutions of the Navier-Stokes Equation" (Communications in Pure and Applied Mathematics, 1982), which was and remains a landmark in the understanding of the behavior of solutions to the Navier-Stokes equations and has been a source of inspiration for a generation of mathematicians.

AMS Bôcher Prize: SIMON BRENDLE, Stanford University, for his outstanding solutions of long-standing problems in geometric analysis, including the solution with R. Schoen of the differentiable sphere theorem (Journal of the AMS, 2009) and the solution of the Lawson conjecture (to appear, Acta Mathematica 2013), as well as his deep contributions to the study of the Yamabe equation.

AMS Cole Prize in Number Theory: DANIEL GOLDSTON, San Jose State University; JÁNOS PINTZ, Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences; and CEM Y. YILDIRIM, Bogazici University, for their work on "small gaps" between prime numbers; and YITANG ZHANG, University of New Hampshire, for his work on bounded gaps between primes.

AMS Levi L. Conant Prize: ALEXANDER KONTOROVICH, Yale University, for his article "From Apollonius to Zaremba: Local-global phenomena in thin orbits", (Bulletin of the AMS, 2013).

AMS Doob Prize: CÉDRIC VILLANI, Institut Henri Poincaré and Université de Lyon, for his book Optimal Transport: Old and New (Springer-Verlag, 2009).

AMS Eisenbud Prize: GREGORY W. MOORE, Rutgers University, for his group of works on the structure of four-dimensional supersymmetric theories with extended supersymmetry.

AMS Award for Distinguished Public Service: PHILIP KUTZKO, University of Iowa, for his career-long devotion to increasing opportunities for women and the under-represented to excel in the study of advanced mathematics, to do original research in mathematics, and to pursue successful careers in math-intensive professions.

AMS-MAA-SIAM Morgan Prize for Outstanding Research in Mathematics by an Undergraduate Student: ERIC LARSON, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his truly exceptional record of research, which includes eight published papers.

JPBM Communications Award: DANICA MCKELLAR, actress and author, whose books, blog, and public appearances have encouraged countless middle and high school students, especially girls, to be more interested in mathematics.


The full citation for this prize and additional information are available upon request to Find out more about AMS prizes and awards at

Founded in 1888 to further mathematical research and scholarship, today the more than 30,000 member American Mathematical Society fulfills its mission through programs and services that promote mathematical research and its uses, strengthen mathematical education, and foster awareness and appreciation of mathematics and its connections to other disciplines and to everyday life.

Contacts: Mike Breen and Annette Emerson Public Awareness Officers, American Mathematical Society

American Mathematical Society
201 Charles Street
Providence, RI 02904

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.