Public Release: 

NASA satellite spots Hudhud's remnants

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

IMAGE?

IMAGE: NASA's Aqua satellite saw the remnants of Typhoon Hudhud still over India, Nepal, and China on Oct. 14 at 08:05 UTC (4:05 a.m. EDT). view more

Credit: Image Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Cyclone Hudhud made landfall in east-central India on Oct. 12 and caused a lot of damage and several fatalities as it moved inland and weakened to a remnant low pressure area. NASA saw those remnants on Oct. 14.

When NASA's Aqua satellite passed over Indochina, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument provided picture proof that the remnants of Typhoon Hudhud were still over India, Nepal, and China. Aqua passed over the region on Oct. 14 at 08:05 UTC (4:05 a.m. EDT).

Infrared satellite imagery and multispectral satellite imagery indicated that Hudhud made landfall near Visakhapatnam at about 0700 UTC (3 a.m. EDT) Oct. 12. At 11 a.m. EDT, Hudhud was inland and centered near 18.4 north and 82.5 east, about 30 nautical miles west-northwest of Visakhapatnam, Hudhud was moving northwestward at 8 knots and maximum sustained winds were still near 105 knots, making it hurricane-force over land.

Hudhud's hurricane-force winds destroyed the Cyclone Warning Centre. According to Chief Minister N. ChandrababuNaidu, Visakhapatnam and the neighboring districts of Vizianagaram and Srikakulam reported many damages from the storm and some reports indicated over 20 deaths.

Hudhud's remnants are expected to dissipate over land.

###

Rob Gutro

NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.