Public Release: 

Two NASA satellites stare at Typhoon Phanfone's large eye

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

IMAGE?

IMAGE: NASA's TRMM satellite passed over Typhoon Phanfone on Oct. 2 and saw that the heaviest rainfall was shown falling at a rate of over 50 mm (almost 2 inches) per... view more

Credit: SSAI/NASA, Hal Pierce

Two NASA satellites captured data on Typhoon Phanfone as it continues to strengthen as it moves through the Northwestern Pacific Ocean.

The Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission or TRMM satellite flew over Typhoon Phanfone on Oct. 2, 2014 at 0939 UTC (5:39 a.m. EDT). The rainfall pattern observed using TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) data showed that Phanfone was much better organized than a day earlier. This precipitation analysis revealed that intensifying typhoon Phanfone had formed a large eye. The heaviest rainfall was shown falling at a rate of over 50 mm (almost 2 inches) per hour in the northern side of the typhoon's eye wall.

On Oct. 3 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT), Typhoon Phanfone's maximum sustained winds were near 110 knots (126.6 mph/203.7 kph). It was centered near 23.6 north longitude and 134.4 east latitude, about 374 nautical miles west-southwest of the island of Iwo To. Phanfone has tracked northwestward at 12 knots (13.8 mph/22.2 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) predicts intensifying Phanfone's wind speeds will peak at 125 knots (144 mph) on October 3, 2014. The typhoon is then predicted to gradually weaken and it's track to re-curve toward the northeast and pass to the southeast of Tokyo, Japan on October 5-6, 2014.

###

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.