Public Release: 

The Protein Society announces the 2015 Protein Science 'best paper' award winners

Outstanding first authors win speaking slots at the Protein Society Symposium

The Protein Society


IMAGE: This is an image containing information about the 29th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society. view more

Credit: The Protein Society

The Protein Society, an international, trans-disciplinary community of scientists dedicated to protein research, announces the third annual selection of two Protein Science authors as winners of the 2015 Best Paper Awards. The winners will be acknowledged at the 29th Annual Symposium of The Protein Society (July 22-25, 2015, Barcelona, Spain). Awarded annually to the first authors--typically the researcher who contributed the most work to a given experiment--of papers published during the preceding year in the Protein Society's prestigious academic journal Protein Science, the Best Paper Awards include a complimentary 1-year Protein Society membership, complimentary registration and travel reimbursement for the annual meeting, and an opportunity for the selected junior investigators to present talks as part of the main scientific program. The 2015 Protein Science Best Paper Award winning authors and their articles are:

Chih-Chia (Jack) Su
Assistant Scientist, Biological Systems
Department of Chemistry at Iowa State University

Winning Paper: Chih-Chia Su, Abhijith Radhakrishnan, Nitin Kumar, Feng Long, Jani Reddy Bolla, Hsiang-Ting Lei, Jared A. Delmar, Sylvia V. Do, Tsung-Han Chou, Kanagalaghatta R. Rajashankar, Qijing Zhang, Edward W. Yu (2014) Crystal structure of the Campylobacter jejuni CmeC outer membrane channel. Protein Sci. 23:954-961

Minttu Virkki
Graduate Student
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Stockholm University

Winning Paper: Minttu Virkki, Nitin Agrawal, Elin Edsbacker, Susana Cristobal, Arne Elofsson, Anni Kauko (2014) Folding of aquaporin 1: Multiple evidence that helix 3 can shift out of the membrane core. Protein Sci. 23:981-992


Protein Science, edited by Brian W. Matthews, is a major forum for the dissemination and discussion of leading-edge research into protein structure, function, design, and emerging applications. All submitted manuscripts will be considered for 'Best Paper' awards to be announced the year following their publication. These awards are intended to honor the exemplary work of first authors or other early-career contributors to the selected articles and represent a continuance of The Protein Society's longstanding commitment to supporting the next generation of protein scientists.

Founded in 1986, the purpose of the Society is to provide international forums to facilitate communication, cooperation and collaboration with regard to all aspects of the study of proteins. In support of these goals, the Society publishes Protein Science, hosts an annual international symposium, presents annual awards for scientific achievements, and facilitates the education of students and early-career protein scientists. A truly trans-disciplinary focus on proteins means that Protein Society members span the diverse array of fields, research methodologies, and disciplines engaged in protein science, providing fertile ground for critical innovation and collaboration. With members in more than 50 countries, the impact and relevance of the Protein Society is felt globally. Protein Society members represent a wide spectrum of academic, industry, governmental, and non-profit institutions engaged in basic protein research that is fundamental to advances in pharmaceuticals, agriculture, synthetic materials, nanotechnology, and biofuels, to name just a few . Media inquiries can be directed to Jody McGinness, Executive Director at (443) 543-5452.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.