Public Release: 

MARC travel awards announced for: IHCM Short Course 2015

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Bethesda, MD - FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the Immunohistochemistry and Microscopy Short Course from March 14-19, 2015 in Woods Hole, MA. These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, post doctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the IHCM Short Course. This year MARC conferred 7 awards totaling $12,950.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented groups engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.

The following participants have been selected to receive a FASEB MARC Travel Award:


Maria Del Mar Diaz Bonilla, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras Campus
Ashley Guillory, University of Texas Medical Brand-Galveston
Erika Mendez Vazquez, Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico
Amber Ortiz, University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Fabiola Rivera-Irizarry, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Carolina Santiago-Robles, University of the Sacred Heart
Brandy Schmidt, University of Minnesota


FASEB is composed of 27 societies with more than 120,000 members, making it the largest coalition of biomedical research associations in the United States. Our mission is to advance health and welfare by promoting progress and education in biological and biomedical sciences through service to our member societies and collaborative advocacy.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.