Public Release: 

NASA sees Tropical Cyclone Glenda may be developing an eye

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

IMAGE?

IMAGE: NASA's Aqua satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Cyclone Glenda in the Indian Ocean on Feb. 25 at 08:55 UTC (3:55 a.m. EST). view more

Credit: Image Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Tropical Cyclone Glenda is strengthening in the Southern Indian Ocean and NASA's Aqua satellite saw a potential eye developing when it passed overhead on Feb. 25.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer or MODIS instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite captured a visible image of Tropical Cyclone Glenda on Feb. 25 at 08:55 UTC (3:55 a.m. EST). The image shows bands of thunderstorms wrapping around and into the low-level center of circulation, and the hint of an eye developing.

Tropical Storm 14S has been renamed Tropical Storm Glenda as it continued to strengthen. At 0900 UTC (4 a.m. EST) on Feb. 25, Glenda's maximum sustained winds were near 55 knots (63.2 mph/102 kph). It was centered near 17.6 south latitude and 69.1 east longitude, about 661 nautical miles (760 miles/1,224 km) south-southwest of Diego Garcia. Glenda was moving to the west-southwest at 7 knots (8 mph/13 kph).

Forecasters at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center expect Glenda to strengthen near 95 knots (109.3 mph/176 kph) before beginning to weaken in a couple of days. Glenda is no threat to land and is expected to turn to the southeast and become extra-tropical.

###

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.