Public Release: 

The Association for Gerontology in Higher Education honors new awardees

The Gerontological Society of America

The Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE) -- the educational branch of The Gerontological Society of America -- is proud to announce its newest awardees. The presentation of the awards will occur at AGHE's 41st Annual Meeting and Educational Leadership Conference, taking place from February 26 to March 1 at the Sheraton Nashville Downtown in Nashville, Tennessee. This event provides a forum for professionals in the field of aging to present their work and share ideas about gerontological and geriatric education and training. Visit for complete details.

Clark Tibbitts Award

Presented to Suzanne R. Kunkel, PhD, Miami University

Saturday, February 28, 5 p.m.

This award was established in 1980 to recognize individuals who and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement gerontology as a field of study in institutions of higher education.

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award

Presented to Jennifer C. Mendez, PhD, Wayne State University

Sunday, March 1, 9:45 a.m.

This award, named for an outstanding mentor in gerontology, is given to an individual who has contributed to gerontological education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, and administrators.

Mildred M. Seltzer Distinguished Service Recognition

Presented to Dena Shenk, PhD, University of North Carolina Charlotte; and Eleanor Krassen Covan, PhD, University of North Carolina at Wilmington

Friday, February 27, 4:30 p.m.

This award honors colleagues who are near retirement or recently retired. Recipients are individuals who have been actively involved in AGHE through service on committees, as elected officers, and/or have provided leadership in one of AGHE's grant-funded projects.

David A. Peterson Gerontology & Geriatrics Education Best Paper of the Volume Award

Presented to Feliciano Villar, PhD, University of Barcelona; Montserrat Celdran, PhD, University of Barcelona, and Josep Fabà, MSc, University of Barcelona, for "Tell Me Your Life: Including Life

Stories in an Adult Development and Aging Course"

The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence in scholarship in academic gerontology in AGHE's official journal, Gerontology & Geriatrics Education.

Distinguished Faculty Award

Presented to Graham D. Rowles, PhD, University of Kentucky

Saturday, February 28, 8 a.m.

This award recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof.

Student Leadership Award

Presented to Katherine Humber, MA, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

This award recognizes students whose leadership has advanced the goals and mission of AGHE as well as the respective goals of their AGHE-affiliated institutions.

Rising Star Junior Faculty Honor

Presented to Tina Kruger Newsham, PhD, Indiana State University

Friday, February 27, 3 p.m.

This award recognizes new faculty whose teaching and/or leadership stands out as impactful and innovative.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.