Public Release: 

Largest medical specialty organization in US meets to present latest advances in internal medicine

American College of Physicians celebrates 100th anniversary at Internal Medicine Meeting 2015, speakers include former US Senator Tom Daschle and Surgeon General Vivek Murthy

American College of Physicians

More than 6,000 internal medicine physicians, subspecialists, medical students, and allied health professionals from around the world will gather for the American College of Physicians' (ACP) Internal Medicine Meeting 2015 from April 30 through May 2 (Thursday - Saturday) at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center.

More than 200 sessions cover a broad array of clinical and health care policy topics. On Thurs., April 30, former U.S. Senator Tom Daschle will give the keynote address at the Opening Ceremony, which begins at 9:30 a.m., and U.S. Surgeon General Vice Admiral (VADM) Vivek H. Murthy will address new Fellows at Convocation, which begins at 6:00 p.m.

Several special sessions highlight ACP's 100th anniversary, including:

  • "Defining Internal Medicine: The History of the ACP" features the history of ACP and advances in internal medicine over the past century.

  • "History of Politics in American Medicine" reviews the history of medicine's involvement in the political arena from the 17th century to today, with a particular focus on ACP's public policy engagement from its founding in 1915 through the present.

  • "The History of Annals of Internal Medicine and the Future of Medical Journals" presented by Dr. Christine Laine, Editor-in-Chief of Annals of Internal Medicine.

ACP also will feature an art exhibit; a specially designed, large scale timeline of ACP history; a life-sized representation of Sir William Osler, the "Father of Internal Medicine," for attendees to snap a 'selfie' with; and a centennial-themed video to kick off the Opening Ceremony.

Internal Medicine Meeting 2015 includes national abstract competitions for Medical Students and Resident/Fellow members. Finalists will compete onsite in five categories: Clinical Vignette, Basic Research, Clinical Research, Quality Improvement - Patient Safety, and High Value Care. Resident/Fellow oral presentations take place on May 1. Medical Student oral presentations will take place on May 2. Winners of the poster competitions will be announced on May 2 at 6:30 p.m.

On May 2 at 5:15 p.m., Internal Medicine Meeting Highlights and the final round of Doctor's Dilemma take place. Clinician-educators will share what they think are the meeting's most important take-home messages. Then the "Final Four" teams remaining in the Doctor's Dilemma competition -- a fast-paced, Jeopardy-style medical knowledge competition among students and residents -- will face off in the championship round. The winning team takes home the Osler Cup -- ACP's coveted trophy.

During the meeting, Wayne J. Riley, MD, MACP, will become president of ACP and Tanveer P. Mir, MD, MACP, will become chair of ACP's Board of Regents. Both terms are for one year.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.