Public Release: 

Scientists honored in Biochemical Society awards

Biochemical Society

Eleven distinguished scientists and exceptional early career researchers have been honoured in the Biochemical Society's annual Awards.

The Awards recognize scientists for the excellence of their work and the profound impact their research has had on the scientific community and wider society. They also highlight outstanding work by early career researchers.

The recipients have made ground-breaking discoveries and developments in fields as diverse as cancer research, lipid biochemistry, bioenergetics, RNA biology, mass spectrometry, eukaryotic cells and bacteria genes.

Professor Anne Dell, Chair of the Awards Committee, said: "The Biochemical Society's Awards recognize scientists at all career stages, across the full spectrum of the molecular biosciences. The Award lectures in 2016 will showcase the outstanding contributions that the winners have made."

  • AstraZeneca Award: Dame Carol Robinson, University of Oxford, UK
  • Centenary Award: Patrick Cramer, The Gene Center of the University of Munich (LMU), Germany
  • Colworth Medal: David Grainger, University of Birmingham, UK
  • GlaxoSmithKline Award: Charles Swanton, CRUK London Research Institute, UK
  • Keilin Memorial Lecture: Michael Murphy, MRC MBU, Cambridge, UK
  • Morton Lecture: John Harwood, Cardiff University, UK
  • Novartis Medal and Prize: David Tollervey, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Biological Systems Early Career Research Award: Anne-Marie Krachler, University of Birmingham, UK
  • Cells Early Career Research Award: Bungo Akiyoshi, University of Oxford, UK
  • Computational Biology Early Career Research Award: Joseph Marsh, MRC HGU, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Molecular Structure and Function Early Career Research Award: Anthony Roberts, Birkbeck University of London, UK


For more information on the winners, visit:

All of the Award prizes and medal lectureships will take place in 2016 and all lectures will be published in Biochemical Society Transactions.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.