Public Release: 

MARC Travel Awards announced for EB 2015

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology

Bethesda, MD - FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the Experimental Biology 2015 (EB 2015) meeting in Boston, MA from March 28 - April 1, 2015. These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, post doctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at EB 2015.

Awards are given to poster/platform presenters and faculty mentors paired with the students/trainees they mentor. This year MARC conferred 67 awards totaling $122,620.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented groups engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.

FASEB is composed of 27 societies with more than 120,000 members, making it the largest coalition of biomedical research associations in the United States. Our mission is to advance health and welfare by promoting progress and education in biological and biomedical sciences through service to our member societies and collaborative advocacy.


March 28 - April 1, 2015

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology/FASEB


Temitope Adeyeni, Saint Louis University [ASBMB member]

Shyretha Brown, Tennessee State University [ASBMB member]

Joseph Castillo, University of New Mexico [ASBMB member]

Adam Contreras, University of California, Davis [ASBMB member]

Andrea Flores, Meharry Medical College [ASBMB member]

Wilnelly Hernandez-Sanchez, Case Western Reserve University [ASBMB member]

Marina Kirkland, Western University of Health Sciences [ASBMB member]

Denishia McIntosh, Meharry Medical College [ASBMB member]

Rebecca Pollet, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill [ASBMB member]

Stephanie Pulliam, Meharry Medical College [ASBMB member]

Jemilat Salami-Oyenuga, Yale University [ASBMB member]

Nancy Villa, University of California, Davis [ASBMB member]

Shana Watson, University of South Carolina [ASBMB member]

Kirkland Wilson, Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine [ASBMB member]

American Society for Investigative Pathology/FASEB


Courtney Johnson, Brown University [ASIP member]

Ariangela Kozik, Purdue University [ASIP member]

Jeffrey Leavitt, Palomar College [ASIP member]

Tania Nevers, Tufts Medical Center [ASIP member]

Meeting Registration Award

Francisco Velazquez, Tufts Sackler School of Graduate Biomedical Sciences [ASIP member]

American Society for Nutrition/FASEB


Timothy Barnes, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities [ASN member]

Michelle Cardel, University of Colorado, Denver Anschutz Medical Campus [ASN member]

Ashley Carter, Florida State University [ASN member]

Valerie Darcy, Georgetown University [ASN member]

Angela De Leon, University of California, Davis [ASN member]

Dede Ekoue, University of Illinois at Chicago [ASN member]

Monique LeMieux, Texas Tech University [ASN member]

Andrea Lopez-Cepero, University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus [ASN member]

Danielle Nunnery, University of North Carolina, Greensboro [ASN member]

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics/FASEB


Rafael Gil de Rubio, University of Rochester [ASPET member]

Anthony Jones, SUNY at Buffalo [ASPET member]

Alina Monteagudo, University of Rochester [ASPET member]

Fernando Moura, The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio [ASPET member]

Antoinette Nelson, Rutgers University [ASPET member]

Iman Saber, Temple University [ASPET member]


Sabri Abdelwahab, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill [ASIP member]

Karlbuto Alexandre, American International College

Kristen Arnold, The Ohio State University

Elise Dela Cruz-Talbert, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Alyssa Florwick, University of Maryland Baltimore County

Ashley Guillory, University of Texas Medical Branch [ASPET member]

Ronee Harvey, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine [APS member]

Cody Hernandez, Texas State University [ASBMB member]

David Iaea, Weill Cornell Medical College [ASBMB member]

Marquita Johnson, Florida A & M University [ASIP member]

Bridget Martinez, UC Merced [APS member]

Leah Mitchell-Bush, Texas Southern University [ASPET member]

Niya Morris, Loyola University Chicago Health Sciences Division

Olivia Nguyen, Texas Southern University [ASPET member]

Augustine Nkembo, Florida A & M University [ASBMB member]

Alexander Oderhowho, University of Houston [ASPET member]

Joseph Racca, Case Western Reserve University [ASBMB member]

Eric Rivas, Texas Woman's University [APS member]

Manuel Roqueta-Rivera, Sanford Burnham Medical Research Institute [ASBMB member]

Martin Rosario Canales, University of Puerto Rico Medical Sciences Campus [AAA member]

Jeremy Townsend, University of Central Florida [ACSM member] [HCS member]


Matthew Clowers, Florida A&M University

Krista LaBelle, Florida A&M University

Dr. Wesley Gray, Southern University Baton Rouge

Janachia McGovern, Southern University Baton Rouge

Dr. Karen Lewis, Texas State University

Jose Castro, Texas State University

Omar Miranda, Oregon State University

Dr. Sunny Ohia, Texas Southern University [ASPET member]

Christine Ly, Texas Southern University

Ana Ortega, University of Texas - Pan American

Jiana Salas, University of Guam

Mei Ying Zhang, University of Hawaii at Manoa


Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20814-3998

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.