Public Release: 

Max Planck Florida hosts Sunposium 2015 Neural Circuits Conference

Plenary lectures by Eric Betzig, Karl Deisseroth, Catherine Dulac and Botond Roska

Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience

Several internationally recognized scientists will be speaking at Max Planck Florida Institute for Neuroscience's second biennial conference highlighting some of the most complex issues at the forefront of understanding neural circuits. The two-day conference event will be held March 30-31, 2015 at the PGA National Resort and Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. Nearly 300 scientists and students traveled to The Breakers for the 2012 inaugural Sunposium that featured three at the time, and now 6, Nobel Laureates.

Speakers for the 2015 Sunposium are: Eric Betzig (Janelia Research Campus), Tobias Bonhoeffer (Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology), Karl Deisseroth (Stanford University), Winfried Denk (Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, University of Heidelberg), Catherine Dulac (Harvard University), Florian Engert (Harvard University), Rainer Friedrich (Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research), Michael Häusser (University College London), Richard Huganir (Johns Hopkins University), Na Ji (Janelia Research Campus), Yishi Jin, (University of California, San Diego), Erik Jorgensen (University of Utah), Gilles Laurent (Max Planck Institute for Brain Research), Loren Looger (Janelia Research Campus), Richard Mooney (Duke University), J. Anthony Movshon (New York University), Thomas Mrsic-Flogel (University of Basel), Botond Roska (Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research), Massimo Scanziani (University of California, San Diego), Erin Schuman (Max Planck Institute for Brain Research), Songhai Shi (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center), Richard Tsien (New York University, Stanford University) and Xiaowei Zhuang (Harvard University).

Max Planck Florida has also sponsored several undergraduate neuroscience students from local universities to attend as part of their Max Planck Florida Scientific Fellows program.

Additional information on speakers and registration for this year's event is available at


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.