Public Release: 

MPSA announces Kenneth J. Meier award recognizing scholarship in public administration and policy

Midwest Political Science Association


IMAGE: Professor Meier is the Charles H. Gregory Chair in Liberal Arts at Texas A&M University. view more

Credit: Texas A&M

April 27, 2015, Bloomington, IN -- The Midwest Political Science Association has established a new annual award recognizing outstanding scholarship in politics, public administration, and public policy in honor of Kenneth J. Meier, Distinguished Professor and Director of the Project for Equity, Representation & Governance at Texas A&M University. The inaugural award will recognize the best paper in bureaucratic politics, public administration, or public policy presented at the 2015 MPSA conference and is scheduled to be presented at MPSA's 74th annual conference in April 2016 at the Palmer House in Chicago.

In addition to serving as the Charles H. Gregory Chair in Liberal Arts at Texas A&M University, Meier also directs the Project for Equity, Representation and Governance, the Texas Educational Excellence Project, and the Carlos Cantu Hispanic Education and Opportunity Endowment and holds a joint appointment as a professor of public management at the Cardiff University School of Business (Wales). Meier is considered a leading authority in two areas of research - the role of public organizations in public policy and race and politics.

Among Meier's career achievement awards are the H. George Frederickson Award, the C. Dwight Waldo Award, the John Gaus Award, the Charles Levine Award, and the Association of Former Students Award for Research. He is a member of the National Academy of Public Administration and has been an Advanced Institute of Management Fellow (United Kingdom), a Research Fellow of the Danish Institute for Social Research, and a Big XII Faculty Fellow. Meier has served as president of the Public Management Research Association, the Midwest Political Science Association, and the Southwest Political Science Association. He is also a former editor of the American Journal of Political Science and is currently the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory.

Perhaps more important than his scholarship, Ken Meier has influenced countless members of the discipline and continues to mentor graduate and undergraduate students while maintaining a highly productive research agenda. He has served as a chair or member on over 60 dissertation committees and over 30 MA committees. The award, proposed and initially funded by Meier's current and former students in the Department of Political Science at Texas A&M, was first announced at this year's "Meierpalooza", an annual celebration held during the MPSA conference.

Individuals serving as Chairs and Discussants at the 2015 MPSA conference may nominate outstanding papers in politics, public administration, and public policy for the Kenneth J. Meier Award at Donations may be made to the Kenneth J. Meier Award fund online at


For additional information, please contact Amanda Rutherford, Ph.D. Candidate, Department of Political Science, Texas A&M University at (214) 803-3114 or or Melissa Heeke, Director of Membership and Communications, Midwest Political Science Association at (812) 558-0588 x 3 or

The Midwest Political Science Association (MPSA) is an international organization with a membership of approximately 6,100 political science faculty, researchers and graduate students representing more than 90 countries. Founded in 1939, the MPSA is dedicated to the advancement of scholarship in all areas of political science. MPSA publishes the American Journal of Political Science, one of the top research journals in the discipline.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.