Public Release: 

EMBO announces new members for 2015


Heidelberg, 20 May 2015 - EMBO today announced that 58 outstanding researchers in the life sciences were elected to its membership. Fifty of the scientists reside in Europe and neighbouring countries; eight Associate Members were elected from China, Japan, New Zealand and the United States.

The latest scientists to join EMBO come from 19 different countries and include 18 female scientists recognized for their contributions to life science research. The EMBO Membership currently comprises more than 1700 life scientists.

"EMBO Members influence the future direction of science and help to strengthen research communities by encouraging interactions between countries," EMBO Director Maria Leptin remarked. "We welcome these exceptional scientists to EMBO and look forward to their input."

EMBO Members serve on selection committees for EMBO programmes, mentor young scientists, and provide suggestions and feedback on the activities of EMBO.

New EMBO Members and Associate Members are invited to present their research at the EMBO Members' Meeting from 28-30 October 2015 in Heidelberg.

The newly elected members and associate members are:


Amparo Acker-Palmer, DE
Detlev Arendt, DE
Jean-Louis Bessereau, FR
Monica Bettencourt-Dias, PT
Ralph Bock, DE
Magdalena Boguta, PL
John Briggs, DE
Simon Bullock, UK
Dirk Bumann, CH
Carlos Caldas, UK
Laurent Duret, FR
Sandrine Etienne-Manneville, FR
Ehud Gazit, IL
Vassilis G. Gorgoulis, GR
Joost Gribnau, NL
John Hardy, UK
Thomas Helleday, SE
Emilio Hirsch, IT
Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke, UK
Philipp Holliger, UK
Casper Hoogenraad, NL
Veit Hornung, DE
Johanna Ivaska, FI
Sophien Kamoun, UK
Susan M. Lea, UK
Alison Lloyd, UK
Jan Lohmann, DE
Javier Martinez, AT
Jean-Claude Martinou, CH
Rebecca Matsas, GR
Pura Muñoz-Cánoves, SP
Georg Nagel, DE
Magnus Nordborg, AT
Duncan T. Odom, UK
Sharon Peacock, UK
Lucas Pelkmans, CH
Luca Pellegrini, UK
Graça Raposo-Benedetti, FR
Eran Segal, IL
Ralf Sommer, DE
Alexander Stark, AT
Amos Tanay, IL
Simon Tavaré, UK
Nicolas Thomä, CH
Maria Elena Torres Padilla, FR
Henrique Veiga-Fernandes, PT
Danièle Werck-Reichhart, FR
Anne E. Willis, UK
Mihaela Zavolan, CH
Chiara Zurzolo, FR


Angelika Amon, US
Lewis C. Cantley, US
Xuetao Cao, CN
Sean B. Carroll, US
Edward F. DeLong, US
Takashi Gojobori, JP
Paul Rainey, NZ
Feng Shao, CN


About EMBO

EMBO is an organization of more than 1700 leading researchers that promotes excellence in the life sciences. The major goals of the organization are to support talented researchers at all stages of their careers, stimulate the exchange of scientific information, and help build a European research environment where scientists can achieve their best work.

EMBO helps young scientists to advance their research, promote their international reputations and ensure their mobility. Courses, workshops, conferences and scientific journals disseminate the latest research and offer training in techniques to maintain high standards of excellence in research practice. EMBO helps to shape science and research policy by seeking input and feedback from our community and by following closely the trends in science in Europe. For more information:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.