Public Release: 

The Protein Society selects 8 winners of Hans Neurath Outstanding Promise Travel Awards

The Protein Society

Barcelona, Spain - The Protein Society, the world's foremost scholarly society dedicated to the science of proteins, is pleased to announce the selection of 8 young researchers to receive the inaugural Hans Neurath Outstanding Promise Travel Awards. Sponsored by the Hans Neurath Foundation, the aim of the awards is to showcase future leaders of the field by recognizing graduate student and postdoctoral researchers who have demonstrated exceptional potential through the quality of their research and to enable them to present their abstracts at the 29th Annual Symposium of the Protein Society in Barcelona, Spain, July 22-25, 2015. Winners receive up to $1,500 in travel award funds, a $500 cash prize, an invitation to publish in the Protein Society's journal Protein Science at no cost, a complimentary 10-year membership in the Protein Society, and are presented with a certificate recognizing their achievement during the Plenary Awards session on July 25th, 2015. From a pool of nearly 350 travel award applications, the following 8 young protein scientists have been chosen to be the first ever recipients of the Hans Neurath Outstanding Promise Travel Awards:

    Pedro Alberto Valiente Flores, Ph.D., University of Havana

    Tatsuya Ikenoue, Institute for Protein Research, Osaka University

    Olivier Julien, Ph.D., University of California, San Francisco

    Ivo C. Martins, Ph.D., Faculdade de Medicina, Universidade de Lisboa

    Shruti Mittal, University of Delhi

    Arnaldo L. Serrano, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison

    Austin E. Smith, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

    Heather Wiebe, Simon Fraser University

The annual Protein Society Symposium acts as a nexus for leading protein researchers from around the world and serves as a high-profile, international platform for the presentation of trans-disciplinary, forefront discoveries in protein science. This is the first time in its nearly 30-year history that The Protein Society's annual meeting will be held outside of the United States. The 8 winners will present their winning abstracts as a poster or as a 15-minute Young Investigator Talk.


The Protein Society is the leading international Society devoted to furthering research and development in protein science. Founded in 1986, the mission of the Society is to provide international forums to facilitate communication, cooperation and collaboration with regard to all aspects of the study of proteins. In support of these goals, the Society publishes Protein Science, the premier journal in the field, hosts an annual international symposium, and facilitates the education of early-career protein scientists across all lines of discipline. The Protein Society members represent a wide spectrum of academic, industry, governmental, and non-profit institutions from more than 50 countries around the world. Media inquiries can be directed to Jody McGinness, Executive Director, at (443) 543-5452

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.