Public Release: 

Lifetime Achievement Awards presented at Alzheimer's Association International Conference

Alzheimer's Association

WASHINGTON, D.C., July 19, 2015 - The Alzheimer's Association recognizes four leading scientists for their contributions to advancing Alzheimer's disease and dementia research. The awards were presented during the opening session at the Alzheimer's Association International Conference® 2015 (AAIC® 2015) in Washington, D.C.

"The contributions of these individuals have added greatly to our understanding of Alzheimer's disease and other dementias," said Maria Carrillo, Ph.D., chief science officer for the Alzheimer's Association. "Not only have each of these scientists helped advance the field of Alzheimer's research, their legacies continue to guide the work of new generations of Alzheimer's and dementia researchers."

Khalid Iqbal, Ph.D., Bengt Winblad, M.D., Ph.D., and Henry Wisniewski, M.D., Ph.D., founded the Alzheimer's research conference in 1988. The Association's lifetime achievement awards are named in their honor. The honorees are:

For the Khalid Iqbal, Ph.D., Lifetime Achievement Award in Alzheimer's Disease Research:

  • Alison Goate, D.Phil., the Mount Sinai Professor of Neurogenetics in the Department of Neuroscience and Director of the Ronald M. Loeb Center for Alzheimer's disease at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City. Dr. Goate has worked on the genetics of Alzheimer's disease for 27 years. She reported the first genetic mutation discovered that causes an inherited form of Alzheimer's. She co-led the team of researchers that reported on some of the first disease-causing genetic mutations discovered for frontotemporal dementia. Her current research focuses on understanding the genetic risk factors for the more common, late-onset form of Alzheimer's disease.
For the Bengt Winblad Lifetime Achievement Award in Alzheimer's Disease Research:

  • John Hodges, M.D., Professor of Cognitive Neurology at the University of New South Wales, Australia. Dr. Hodges has been a longtime researcher of cognition in the context of neurodegenerative disorders. He has authored more than 450 journal articles and five books relating to cognition and dementia. His current research focuses on frontotemporal dementia.
  • Ian McKeith, M.D., Researcher at Newcastle Biomedical Research Unit at Newcastle University in Newcastle upon Tyne and Immediate Past Director of the U.K. National Dementias and Neurodegenerative Diseases Research Network. Dr. McKeith has made significant contributions to the understanding of dementia with Lewy bodies and has led research efforts and institutions dedicated to scientific investigation into this and other dementia-causing diseases. He was the founding president of the U.K.-based Lewy Body Society and director of the U.K. National Dementias and Neurodegenerative Disease Network, which is responsible for the development of clinical trials within the U.K. National Institute for Health Research. His current research focuses on early diagnosis and novel therapeutics for dementia with Lewy bodies at the Newcastle Biomedical Research Unit at Newcastle University in Newcastle upon Tyne in the U.K.
For the Henry Wisniewski Lifetime Achievement Award in Alzheimer's Disease Research:

  • Donald L. Price, M.D., Professor Emeritus of Pathology, Neurology, and Neuroscience at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore. Dr. Price has made substantial contributions to research of several neurological diseases, including Alzheimer's and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. He was the founding director of the Neuropathology Division of the Alzheimer's Disease Research Center at Johns Hopkins and the author of more than 400 publications spanning a range of scientific investigations from the identification of therapeutic targets to the development and analysis of animal models of neurodegenerative diseases.

The AAIC Lifetime Achievement Awards honor individuals who have made significant fundamental contributions to Alzheimer's research, either through a single scientific discovery or a body of work. These contributions, whether they have been in research, leadership or mentorship, must have a lasting impact on the field and must demonstrate a lifetime commitment towards progress against Alzheimer's and dementia.

The Alzheimer's Association is committed to accelerating the global effort to eliminate Alzheimer's disease and to recognizing the efforts of researchers who further our understanding about this devastating disease. The Association is the largest nonprofit funder of Alzheimer's research. It currently supports nearly 350 ongoing research projects in 21 countries, totaling over $78 million. Since 1982, it has awarded nearly $340 million to almost 2,300 scientific investigations.


About AAIC

The Alzheimer's Association International Conference (AAIC) is the largest gathering of leading researchers from around the world focused on Alzheimer's and other dementias. As a part of the Alzheimer's Association's research program, AAIC serves as a catalyst for generating new knowledge about dementia and fostering a vital, collegial research community.

AAIC 2015 home page:
AAIC 2015 newsroom:

About the Alzheimer's Association®

The Alzheimer's Association is the leading voluntary health organization in Alzheimer's care, support and research. Our mission is to eliminate Alzheimer's disease through the advancement of research, to provide and enhance care and support for all affected, and to reduce the risk of dementia through the promotion of brain health. Our vision is a world without Alzheimer's. Visit or call 800.272.3900.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.