Public Release: 

NASA sees Tropical Depression Iune weaken

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

IMAGE

IMAGE: When NASA's Terra satellite passed over Tropical Depression Iune on July 11 at 21:40 UTC (5:40 p.m. EDT), the MODIS instrument captured a visible-light image that showed the storm appeared... view more

Credit: Credits: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

Tropical Storm Iune has weakened to a depression south of Hawaii on July 13. NASA's Terra satellite passed over Iune when it was a tropical storm, before dry air started affecting the system.

When NASA's Terra satellite passed over Tropical Depression Iune on July 11 at 21:40 UTC (5:40 p.m. EDT), the MODIS instrument captured a visible-light image that showed the storm appeared elongated.

At 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) on Monday, July 13, 2015, the center of tropical depression iune was located near latitude 14.4 north and longitude 162.8 west. That puts the center about 570 miles (915 km) south-southwest of Lihue, Hawaii, and about 475 miles (760 km) east-southeast of Johnston Island. The depression was moving toward the west near 10 mph (17 kph) and this motion is expected to continue through system dissipation in the next 36 hours.

Maximum sustained winds are near 30 mph (45 kph) with higher gusts. Iune is expected to become a post tropical remnant low later today, July 13. The estimated minimum central pressure is 1008 millibars.

Forecaster Powell noted that Tropical Depression iune remains devoid of deep convection (strong thunderstorms) and dry air has been wrapping into the system. The low-level center of circulation is well-defined with warm-topped cumulus clouds wrapping through all quadrants," as seen in the MODIS image.

Iune is forecast to dissipate by July 15.

###

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.