Public Release: 

XVIII International Congress on the Carboniferous and Permian

Kazan Federal University

XVIII ICCP, an international meeting of geologists and paleontologists in all field of the Carboniferous and Permian research, will be held at Kazan Federal University, Kazan, Russia on August 11-15, 2015.

The Carboniferous and Permian successions of Russia have a long history of study and are renowned for excellent outcrops that occur over a vast territory, a considerable variety of depositional types, and abundant fossils. National and international projects have focused on documentation of candidates for global strarotypes for stage and substage boundaries, on paleographic reconstruction of the Uralian Ocean and the Paleo-Tethys, and on geochemical studies leading to great advances in our understanding of the paleoclimate at the end of the Paleozoic. Considerable progress was made in the study of Carboniferous and Permian successions in Siberia, the Russian Far East and the CIS-Uralian Region.

ICCP XVIII in Kazan will provide an important forum for discussion of the most relevant cutting-edge topic of Carboniferous-Permian geology and paleontology, and a unique opportunity to see and collect from exceptional geological localities in European Russia.

International Advisory Committee

  • Chairman, ICS International Subcommission on Permian Stratigraphy and Convenor of ICCP1999 Shuzhong Shen
  • Chairman, ICS International Subcommission on Carboniferous Stratigraphy Barry C. Richards
  • Convenors of ICCP-2011 Zhong Qiang Chen and David Haig
  • Convenors of ICCP-2007, Vice Chair, ICS International Subcommission on Carboniferous Stratigraphy Xiangdong Wang
  • Convenor of ICCP-2003 Henk Pagnier
  • Convenor of ICCP-1999 Charles Henderson
  • Convenor of ICCP-1995 Tadeusz Peryt
  • Vice Chair, ICS International Subcommission on Permian Stratigraphy Joerg W. Schneider
  • President, International Association of Sedimentologists Adrian Immenhauser
  • General Secretary, International Association of Sedimentologists Vincenzo Pascucci
  • President, Swiss Geological Commission Helmut Weissert


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.