Public Release: 

Satellite sees Tropical Storm Linda weakening near Baja California

NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

IMAGE

IMAGE: NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured this visible image of Tropical Storm Linda on Sept. 10 at 1741 UTC (1:41 p.m. EDT), west of Baja California, Mexico. view more

Credit: Credits: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

NOAA's GOES-West satellite saw a much weaker Tropical Storm Linda near the Baja California Peninsula of Mexico on September 10. The infrared image showed Linda as a swirl of clouds with strongest thunderstorms on the eastern side.

Although Linda was downgraded to a tropical storm it was close enough to the Baja California coast to cause concern with ocean conditions. The Pacific coasts of Baja California will be affected by swells, which will generate life-threatening surf and riptide conditions.

At 11 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC), the center of Tropical Storm Linda was located near latitude 26.0 North, longitude 118.6 West. That's about 250 miles (400 km) west-southwest of Punta Eugenia, Mexico.

Linda was moving toward the northwest near 7 mph (11 kph) and the National Hurricane Center forecast expects that this motion is expected to continue today. A turn toward the west-northwest and a decrease in forward speed are expected tonight. Maximum sustained winds have decreased to near 40 mph (65 kph) with higher gusts.

Additional weakening is forecast, and Linda is expected to become a remnant low later on September 10 as it continues to turn to the west-northwest and away from land.

###

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.