Public Release: 

UNIST professor named to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology(UNIST)


IMAGE: Dr. Steve Granick, Director of the IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter at UNIST has been named as a new member of the U.S. Academy of Arts and Sciences.... view more

Credit: Seo-Yeon Lee, AZA Studio

A faculty member of Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST) has been recently selected for membership in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of America's most prestigious honorary societies.

Dr. Steve Granick, the Director of the IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter at UNIST is among 176 new fellows and 37 foreign honorary members selected for membership this year. The new members will be formally inducted on October 8, 2016, followed by the 2016 Induction at the House of the Academy in Cambridge, Massachusetts on October 7, 2016.

Dr. Steve Granick, who is also a Distinguished Professor of chemistry and of physics at UNIST, is an expert in the chemistry and physics of colloids and polymers. Dr. Granick founded the IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter in 2004. His research interests are in the areas of polymers, complex fluids, and biomaterials. At our UNIST IBS campus research center, he aims to develop core technologies into applications for climate, energy, and medical related areas through our world-class research facilities.

Membership in the academy is considered one of the highest honors that an individual can receive in that the current membership includes nearly 250 living Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is also a leading center for independent policy research that allows members to contribute studies and research on topics in the humanities, international affairs, arts, education and policy.

Founded in 1780, the Academy has elected leading "thinkers and doers" from each generation, including George Washington and Benjamin Franklin in the 18th century, Daniel Webster and Ralph Waldo Emerson in the 19th century, and Margaret Mead and Martin Luther King Jr. in the 20th century.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.