Public Release: 

National Academy of Medicine names 3 NAM Fellows for 2016

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine

WASHINGTON -- The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) has selected three outstanding health professionals for the class of 2016 NAM Fellows. The fellows were chosen based on their professional qualifications, reputations as scholars, professional accomplishments, and relevance of current field expertise to the work of the NAM and the Health and Medicine Division of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The fellows will collaborate with eminent researchers, policy experts, and clinicians from across the country. They will help facilitate initiatives convened by the Academies to provide nonpartisan, evidence-based guidance to national, state, and local policymakers, academic leaders, health care administrators, and the public.

The class of 2016 NAM Fellows is:

  • Osteopathic Medicine Fellow: Jennie H. Kwon, D.O., instructor of medicine, infectious diseases, Washington University School of Medicine; and associate hospital epidemiologist, Barnes-Jewish Hospital, St. Louis

  • Pharmacy Fellow: Jonathan H. Watanabe, Pharm.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of clinical pharmacy, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of California, San Diego

  • James C. Puffer, M.D./American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM) Fellow: Sean C. Lucan, M.D., M.P.H., M.S., associate professor of clinical family and social medicine, department of family and social medicine, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, N.Y.

Each fellow will continue in his or her primary academic post while engaging part time over a two-year period in the Academies' health and science policy work. Each will work with an expert study committee or roundtable related to his or her professional interests, including contributing to its reports or other products. A flexible research stipend of $25,000 will be awarded to every fellow.

The overall purpose of the NAM Fellowship program is to enable talented, early career health science scholars to participate actively in the work of the Academies and to further their careers as future leaders in the field.


The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine are private, nonprofit institutions that provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine. The Academies operate under an 1863 congressional charter to the National Academy of Sciences, signed by President Lincoln. For more information, visit

Molly Galvin, Senior Media Relations Officer
Rebecca Ray, Media Relations Assistant
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail
Twitter: @theNASEM
RSS feed:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.