Public Release: 

EMBO welcomes 65 new members


Heidelberg, June 16, 2017 - EMBO announces today that 65 outstanding life scientists have been elected to its membership, joining a group of more than 1700 of the best researchers in Europe and around the world.

The total number includes 56 EMBO Members residing in 19 Member States of the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC) and nine EMBO Associate Members currently working in the USA and Japan.

"Election to the EMBO Membership is recognition of research excellence, and I am pleased to welcome so many great scientists to our organisation," says EMBO Director Maria Leptin.

She continues: "We received more nominations than ever before during this election cycle, which pays tribute to the strength and diversity of the European life sciences. Drawing on our new members' expertise and insight will be invaluable in helping EMBO to deliver and strengthen its programmes and activities in the years to come."

EMBO Members are actively involved in the execution of the organisation's initiatives by evaluating applications for EMBO funding and by serving on EMBO Council, Committees and Editorial Boards.

New EMBO Members and Associate Members will be formally welcomed at the EMBO Members' Meeting in Heidelberg 18-20 October 2017.

An online directory with all existing and new EMBO Members is available at

Selected statistics about this year's intake

  • 40% women
  • Average age of newly elected members: 50.8 years
  • Newly elected members reside in 21 countries

New EMBO Members 2017

Ido Amit
Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Alberto Bardelli
University of Turin, IT

Ralf Bartenschlager
University of Heidelberg & DKFZ Heidelberg, DE

Renata Basto
Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Eva Benkova
Institute of Science and Technology Austria (IST), Klosterneuburg, AT

Frédéric Berger
Gregor Mendel Institute of Molecular Plant Biology, Vienna, AT

Frances M. Brodsky
University College London, UK

Damian Brunner
University of Zurich, CH

Lena Claesson-Welsh
Uppsala University, SE

Monica M.G. Di Luca
University of Milan, IT

Paula Duque
Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Michael L. Dustin
University of Oxford, UK

Eran Elinav
Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Jeremy Farrar
Wellcome Trust, London, UK

Martin Fussenegger
ETH Zurich, Basel, CH

Fátima Gebauer Hernández
Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG), The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology, Barcelona, ES

Niko Geldner
University of Lausanne, CH

Daniel W. Gerlich
Institute of Molecular Biotechnology of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (IMBA), Vienna, AT

Isabel Gordo
Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Stephan Grill
Technical University, Dresden, DE

Anja Groth
Biotech Research and Innovation Centre (BRIC), Copenhagen, DK

Jacob Hanna
Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Clare Isacke
Institute of Cancer Research, London, UK

Roman Jerala
National Institute of Chemistry, Ljubljana, SI

Johanna Joyce
University of Lausanne, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Lausanne, CH

Roy Kishony
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, IL

Thomas Klausberger
Medical University of Vienna, AT

Saulius Klimašauskas
Vilnius University, LT

Claudia Köhler
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, SE

Magda Konarska
Centre of New Technologies, Warsaw University, Warsaw, PL

Marc Lecuit
Institut Pasteur, Paris, FR

Ben Lehner
Centre for Genomic Regulation (CRG), The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology, Barcelona, ES

Sten Linnarsson
Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, SE

Núria López-Bigas
Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Barcelona, ES

Susanne Mandrup
University of Southern Denmark, Odense, DK

Marta Miaczynska
International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Warsaw, PL

Irene Miguel-Aliaga
MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences, Imperial College London, UK

Stefan Mundlos
Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin, DE

Mary O'Connell
CEITEC, Masaryk University, Brno, CZ

Sarah E. O'Connor
John Innes Centre, Norwich, UK

Csaba Pál
Biological Research Centre, Szeged, HU

Tracy Palmer
University of Dundee, UK

Franck Perez
Institut Curie, Paris, FR

Ramesh S. Pillai
University of Geneva, CH

Panayiota Poirazi
IMBB - FORTH, Heraklion, Crete, GR

Iñaki Ruiz-Trillo
Institut de Biologia Evolutiva (CSIC-Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Barcelona, ES

Sjors H.W. Scheres
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

Maya Schuldiner
Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL

Miguel Soares
Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Oeiras, PT

Charles Swanton
The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK

Elly M. Tanaka
Research Institute of Molecular Pathology (IMP), Vienna, AT

Marc Timmers
University Medical Center Utrecht, NL, & Medical Center, University of Freiburg, DE

Asl?han Tolun
Bo?aziçi University, Istanbul, TR

Alexander van Oudenaarden
Hubrecht Institute, Utrecht, NL

Michael Wagner
University of Vienna, AT

Anton Wutz
ETH Zurich, CH

New Associate EMBO Members 2017

Mina J. Bissell
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, US

Piero Carninci
RIKEN Center for Life Science Technologies, Yokohama, JP

Gerard Karsenty
Columbia University, New York, US

Richard E. Lenski
Michigan State University, East Lansing, US

Michael S. Levine
Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics, Princeton University, US

Jennifer Lippincott Schwartz
HHMI Janelia Research Campus, Ashburn, US

Gerald Rubin
HHMI Janelia Research Campus, Ashburn, US

Arthur Weiss
University of California, San Francisco, US

Jonathan Weissman
HHMI and University of California, San Francisco, US


About EMBO

EMBO is an organization of more than 1700 leading researchers that promotes excellence in the life sciences. The major goals of the organization are to support talented researchers at all stages of their careers, stimulate the exchange of scientific information, and help build a European research environment where scientists can achieve their best work.

EMBO helps young scientists to advance their research, promote their international reputations and ensure their mobility. Courses, workshops, conferences and scientific journals disseminate the latest research and offer training in techniques to maintain high standards of excellence in research practice. EMBO helps to shape science and research policy by seeking input and feedback from our community and by following closely the trends in science in Europe. For more information:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.