Public Release: 

Two INRS professors elected to OSA's 2018 class of fellows

For their outstanding contributions to science

Institut national de la recherche scientifique - INRS

INRS professors François Légaré and Federico Rosei of the Centre Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications have been elected Fellows of the Optical Society (OSA). This distinction recognizes their work in ultrafast molecular imaging and photonic materials development, respectively, as a significant contribution to the advancement of optics and photonics. It reflects their leadership, record of outstanding publications, and the significance and impact of their scientific and technical accomplishments.

Admission to the class is highly selective and competitive, especially considering that the total number of fellows may not exceed 10% of global OSA membership. In 2018 the distinction was awarded to 101 researchers from 19 countries. Only five Canadians made the list, including Prof.s Légaré and Rosei from INRS.

Dr. Légaré will be honoured at the May 2018 Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) in San Jose (California). Dr. Rosei will be officially received as Fellow at a 2018 OSA conference or meeting to be announced.

Dr. Légaré and Dr. Rosei were also recently named senior members by the OSA.

Congratulations to the new OSA Fellows--both for this honour and for their outstanding work!


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.