Public Release: 

Rogers named Fellow to Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology

ABET Fellow

University of Texas at Arlington


IMAGE: Jamie Rogers, Distinguished Teaching Professor and associate chair of the Industrial, Manufacturing and Systems Engineering Department at The University of Texas at Arlington view more 

Credit: UT Arlington

Jamie Rogers, Distinguished Teaching Professor and associate chair of the Industrial, Manufacturing and Systems Engineering Department at The University of Texas at Arlington, has been named a Fellow of the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology.

ABET is the global accreditation organization for collegiate engineering programs.

She was named Fellow "in recognition of exemplary leadership as director and president enabling ABET's gold standard reputation in educational accreditation during the rebranding and transition to the new governance structure."

ABET accredits college and university programs in applied and natural science, computing, engineering and engineering technology. The organization, founded more than 80 years ago, provides the criteria that form the basis of quality for more than 40 disciplines worldwide. More than 2,200 experts from academia, industry and government volunteer their time as program evaluators, commissioners, board members and advisers.

These volunteer experts help accredit approximately 3,700 programs at more than 752 institutions in 31 countries.

Fewer than 10 percent of ABET volunteer experts hold the designation of Fellow.

"I'm honored to be named an ABET Fellow. Together we have achieved some truly great things in the world of technical education. What's really important is the people and the relationships we continue to build over the years - this includes ABET staff, volunteer experts, member societies, programs, institutions and accrediting bodies worldwide, whose work ensures that students, employers and the society we serve can be confident that a program meets the quality standards that produce graduates prepared to enter a global workforce," Rogers said.

"Thank you to my colleagues at UTA who have been supportive of my journey as an ABET volunteer expert, and thank you to my ABET mentors who have provided such sound guidance over the years. I am confident that with ABET, the best is yet to come."

Paul Componation, chair of UTA's IMSE Department, said Rogers is a leader in the industry.

"Dr. Rogers' work with ABET has helped UTA learn not only what the current trends are in engineering education, but also where we are heading in the future.," Componation said. "She also has raised the visibility of UTA with peer institutions worldwide."

Rogers has served as an ABET volunteer expert for many years, including as an industrial engineering program evaluator or team chair since 1991, a member of the Engineering Accreditation Commission from 1999-2004, a member of the International Activities Council from 2005-08 and member of the ABET Board of Directors since 2008. She served as ABET president during the 2014-2015 academic year and currently chairs the ABET Global Council.

She received the UTA Chancellor's Council Award for Teaching Excellence in 1999, was inducted into the UT Arlington Academy of Distinguished Teachers in 2011, selected as a UT System Regents' Outstanding Teacher in 2012 and has received the prestigious Piper Professor Nomination in 2013.

She also served the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board as a member of the Tuning Oversight Council for Engineering from 2010-2011 and was a member of the UT System - Systems Engineering in Healthcare Steering Committee between 2011 and 2017.

Rogers has been awarded more than $3.6 million in research funding as a principal investigator or co-principle investigator and served on the recent National Science Foundation-funded Engineering Sustainable Engineers project from 2009 to 2012).

She also is a Fellow of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers and was inducted into the University of Missouri Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering Hall of Fame in 2013 and is a member of several honor societies.

Prior to joining the faculty at UTA, Rogers worked at Texas Instruments from 1979 to 1994 in various engineering and management positions in the defense electronics and semiconductor business areas.

UTA's College of Engineering offers 11 bachelor's degree programs: aerospace engineering, architectural engineering, bioengineering, civil engineering, computer engineering, computer science, construction management, electrical engineering, industrial engineering, mechanical engineering and software engineering. Of those, all are ABET-accredited except architectural engineering and construction management, which are new programs and not yet eligible for accreditation.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.