Public Release: 

AIAA announces its Class of 2018 fellows and honorary fellows

Three honorary fellows and 22 fellows selected

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) has selected its Class of 2018 AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows. The induction ceremony for the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will take place at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on May 2 at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C.

"AIAA Fellows and Honorary Fellows have dedicated themselves and their careers to the advancement of aeronautics and astronautics," said AIAA President Jim Maser. "Their hard work, innovative spirit and leadership have made possible scores of noteworthy aerospace achievements--large and small--during the past decades. AIAA congratulates the members of the 2018 Class of Fellows and Honorary Fellows on their selection."

Honorary Fellow is the highest distinction conferred by AIAA and recognizes preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics. The 2018 Honorary Fellows are:

    H. Norman Abramson, Southwest Research Institute (retired)

    Charles Elachi, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

    Antony Jameson, Stanford University

AIAA confers the distinction of Fellow upon individuals in recognition of their notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences or technology of aeronautics and astronautics. The 2018 Fellows are:

    Nancy F. Andersen, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

    Supriya Banerjee, FAMES

    Olivier A. Bauchau, University of Maryland

    Marty K. Bradley, The Boeing Company

    Edward L. Burnett, Lockheed Martin Corporation

    Carissa B. Christensen, Bryce Space and Technology, LLC

    Jonathan E. Cooper, University of Bristol

    James E. Graf, Jet Propulsion Laboratory

    Michael A. Hamel, Lockheed Martin Corporation

    Vlad J. Hruby, Busek Co. Inc.

    Parimal H. Kopardekar, NASA Ames Research Center

    Eugene Lavretsky, The Boeing Company

    Sankaran Mahadevan, Vanderbilt University

    Mark D. Maughmer, Pennsylvania State University

    Robert E. Meyerson, Blue Origin LLC

    Dava Newman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

    Robert W. Pitz, Vanderbilt University

    Stephen A. Rizzi, NASA Langley Research Center

    Hannes G. Ross, IBR Aeronautical Consulting; EADS Military Aircraft (ret.)

    Robie I. Samanta Roy, Lockheed Martin Corporation

    Steven P. Schneider, Purdue University

    Steven D. Young, NASA Langley Research Center

In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA's first Honorary Fellow. Today, AIAA Honorary Fellows and AIAA Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry. For more information on AIAA's Honors Program, or the AIAA Honorary Fellows or Fellows Program, please contact Patricia A. Carr at 703.264.7523 or


About AIAA

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the world's largest aerospace technical society. With nearly 30,000 individual members from 85 countries, and 95 corporate members, AIAA brings together industry, academia, and government to advance engineering and science in aviation, space, and defense. For more information, visit, or follow us on Twitter @AIAA.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.