Public Release: 

Young Investigator Award talks at ASBMB Annual Meeting, April 22, San Diego

ASBMB announces the winners of the JBC/Herbert Tabor Young Investigator Awards

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

BETHESDA, Md., April 5, 2018 -- The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will hold its annual meeting April 21- 25 in San Diego. The meeting will be held in conjunction with the Experimental Biology conference, at which four other host societies and multiple guest societies also will hold their annual meetings. The meeting will feature a special Award Symposium at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, April 22, which will highlight the work of five winners of the Journal of Biological Chemistry/Herbert Tabor Young Investigator Awards.

The JBC/HTYI Awards honor graduate students and postdoctoral fellows who are the first authors of exceptional papers published in the Journal of Biological Chemistry.

"These are young, promising scientists who are going to present really exciting work and become the plenary lecturers of tomorrow," said George DeMartino of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, the JBC associate editor who will chair the session. "This is a chance to see them early on."

Below is a list of the winners and their talk titles:

Catherine Back, Univ. of Bristol, United Kingdom and Univ. of Louisville School of Dentistry
Structural and Functional Studies of the Streptococcal Fibrillar Adhesin CshA
More on Back's work here:

Nathan B. Johnson, Univ. of Wisconsin - Madison
Sensing Changes in Cellular Iron Metabolism: Regulation of Irp1 by Fbxl5 and Cytosolic Iron-Sulfur Cluster Assembly
More on Johnson's work here:

Richard J. Karpowicz, Univ. of Pennsylvania
Selective Imaging of Internalized Proteopathic α-Synuclein Seeds in Primary Neurons Reveals Mechanistic Insight into Transmission of Synucleinopathies
More on Karpowicz's work here:

Maria Fe Lanfranco, Georgetown Univ.
Asymmetric Configurations in a Reengineered Homodimer Reveal Multiple Subunit Communication Pathways in Protein Allostery
More on Lanfranco's work here:

Koree Ahn, Northwestern Univ. and Thomas Jefferson Univ.
Complex Interplay of Kinetic Factors Governs the Synergistic Properties of HIV-1 Entry Inhibitors
More on Ahn's work here:


For a day-by-day schedule of the ASBMB annual meeting, visit

About the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The ASBMB is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization with more than 11,000 members worldwide. Most members teach and conduct research at colleges and universities. Others conduct research in government laboratories, at nonprofit research institutions and in industry. The Society's student members attend undergraduate or graduate institutions. For more information about ASBMB, visit

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.