Public Release: 

ACM Turing Award lecture to be livestreamed

Hennessy and Patterson to present "A New Golden Age for Computer Architecture"

Association for Computing Machinery

NEW YORK, NY, May 25, 2018 - John L. Hennessy and David A. Patterson, who received the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award from ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery for pioneering a systematic, quantitative approach to the design and evaluation of computer architectures, will jointly present the Turing Award Lecture on June 4 at the International Symposium of Computer Architecture (ISCA). The Turing Award lecture is open to the public and will be livestreamed.

WHO: Recipients of the 2017 ACM A.M. Turing Award:
John L. Hennessy - former President of Stanford University and Chairman of the Board, Alphabet, Inc.
David A. Patterson - Pardee Professor of Computer Science, Emeritus at UC Berkeley; Distinguished Engineer, Google and Vice Chair of the Board, RISC-V Foundation

WHAT: Hennessy and Patterson have titled their Turing Award Lecture "A New Golden Age for Computer Architecture: Domain-Specific Hardware/Software Co-Design, Enhanced Security, Open Instruction Sets, and Agile Chip Development." In their address, they will argue that we are on the cusp of a new golden age of computer architecture that will significantly improve the cost, performance, energy, and security of computers.

Often referred to as the "Nobel Prize of Computing," the ACM A.M. Turing Award is named for Alan M. Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing, and carries a $1 million prize. Since its inception in 1966, the ACM A.M. Turing Award has honored the computer scientists and engineers who created the systems and underlying theoretical foundations that have propelled the information technology industry.

WHEN: June 4, 2018, 5:00 - 6:00 p.m. PDT

WHERE: International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA 2018), Intercontinental Los Angeles Downtown, 900 Wilshire Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90017


OPEN TO THE PUBLIC: The Turing Award Lecture is free (at no cost) for the public to attend. Conference registration is not required.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.