Public Release: 

62 life scientists elected as EMBO Members


Heidelberg, 14 May 2018 - EMBO announces today that 62 outstanding life scientists have been elected to its membership, joining a group of more than 1800 of the best researchers in Europe and around the world.

"EMBO Members are leading scientists working across all of the life sciences. They also strengthen the research community in Europe and beyond through their international collaborations and connections," says EMBO Director Maria Leptin.

The members are actively involved in the execution of the organization's initiatives by serving on EMBO Council, Committees and Editorial Boards, by evaluating applications for EMBO funding, by mentoring young scientists and by providing suggestions and feedback on activities.

The 53 newly elected EMBO Members reside in 17 Member States of the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC), EMBO's intergovernmental funding body. The nine new EMBO Associate Members are researchers currently working in Argentina, Brazil, Canada, China, India, Japan and the USA.

"It is a particular pleasure to welcome nine researchers based in seven non-European countries among the 62 new members," says Maria Leptin. "EMBO has been actively pursuing ways to strengthen collaboration and scientific exchange through its Global Activities. Our international membership brings experience and connections that are an important component of our work."

The new EMBO Members and Associate Members will be formally welcomed at the Members' Meeting in Heidelberg between 24 and 26 October 2018.

An online directory with all existing and new EMBO Members is available at

Selected statistics about this year's intake

  • newly elected members reside in 24 countries
  • 22 new members (35.5%) are women
  • average age of newly elected members: 50.7 years

New EMBO Members 2018

  • Judi E. Allen, University of Manchester, UK
  • Maria Ina Arnone, Stazione Zoologica 'Anton Dohrn', Napoli, IT
  • Salvador Aznar Benitah, ICREA Researcher, Institute for Research in Biomedicine, Barcelona, ES
  • Marc Buhler, Friedrich Miescher Institute, Basel, CH
  • Janusz M. Bujnicki, International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology, Warsaw, PL
  • Sarah J. Butcher, University of Helsinki, FI
  • Peter J. Campbell, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Cambridge, UK
  • Michele De Luca, Universita di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Modena, IT
  • George Diallinas, National and Kapodistrian University, Athens, GR
  • Nicole Dubilier, Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, Bremen, DE
  • Michaela Frye, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Sonia Garel, Institute of Biology of the Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris, FR
  • Petra Hajkova, MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences, Imperial College London, UK
  • Gregory J. Hannon, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Axel Imhof, Biomedical Center, LMU Munich, DE
  • Artur Jarmolowski, Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznan, PL
  • Luca Jovine, Karolinska Institutet, Huddinge, SE
  • Frank Julicher, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, DE
  • Jim Kaufman, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Colin Kleanthous, University of Oxford, UK
  • Stefan Knapp, Goethe University, Frankfurt, DE
  • Ana-Maria Lennon-Dumenil, Institut Curie, Paris, FR
  • Matthias P. Lutolf, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, CH
  • Alexander Meissner, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Berlin, DE
  • Guillermo Montoya, Novo Nordisk Foundation Center for Protein Research, University of Copenhagen, DK
  • Eduardo Moreno, Champalimaud Centre for the Unknown, Lisbon, PT
  • Francois Nedlec, EMBL, Heidelberg, DE
  • Salvatore Oliviero, University of Torino and IIGM, Torino, IT
  • Ewa K. Paluch, MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology, London and University of Cambridge, UK
  • Lori A. Passmore, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
  • Ana Pombo, Max Delbruck Center for Molecular Medicine, Berlin, DE
  • Felix Randow, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
  • Stefan Raunser, Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, DE
  • Eugenia Russinova, VIB-UGent, Ghent, BE
  • Leonid A. Sazanov, Institute of Science and Technology Austria, Klosterneuburg, AT
  • Alexander F. Schier, Biozentrum, University of Basel, CH
  • Christa Schleper, University of Vienna, AT
  • Brenda A. Schulman, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, DE
  • Blanche Schwappach, University Medical Center Gottingen, DE
  • Benjamin D. Simons, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Lea Sistonen, Abo Akademi University, Turku, FN
  • Thierry Soldati, University of Geneva, CH
  • Rotem Sorek, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, IL
  • Petr Svoboda, Institute of Molecular Genetics of the ASCR, v. v. i., Prague, CZ
  • Kikue Tachibana, IMBA, Vienna, AT
  • Nicolas Tapon, Francis Crick Institute, London, UK
  • Marja C.P. Timmermans, ZMBP, University of Tübingen, DE
  • Iva Tolic, Ruder BoBoskovic Institute, Zagreb, HR
  • Xavier Trepat, Institut de Bioenginyeria de Catalunya (IBEC), Barcelona, ES
  • Marie-Helene Verlhac, CIRB, College de France, Paris, FR
  • Patrik Verstreken, VIB-KU Leuven, Leuven, BE
  • Manuel Zimmer, IMP, Vienna, AT
  • Cyril Zipfel, University of Zurich, CH, and The Sainsbury Laboratory, Norwich, UK

New EMBO Associate Members 2018

  • Alfredo Oscar Caceres, INIMEC-CONICET, Universidad Nacional Cordoba and Instituto Universitario Ciencias Biomedicas de Cordoba, AR
  • Bernardo Carvalho, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, BR
  • Michael B. Elowitz, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, US
  • Karolin Luger, University of Colorado, Boulder, US
  • Duanqing Pei, Guangzhou Institutes of Biomedicine and Health, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Guangzhou, CN
  • Janet Rossant, Hospital for Sick Children, University of Toronto, Toronto, CA
  • LS Shashidhara, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, IN
  • Mikiko C. Siomi, University of Tokyo, JP
  • Tadatsugu Taniguchi, University of Tokyo, JP


About EMBO

EMBO is an organization of more than 1800 leading researchers that promotes excellence in the life sciences. The major goals of the organization are to support talented researchers at all stages of their careers, stimulate the exchange of scientific information, and help build a European research environment where scientists can achieve their best work.

EMBO helps young scientists to advance their research, promote their international reputations and ensure their mobility. Courses, workshops, conferences and scientific journals disseminate the latest research and offer training in techniques to maintain high standards of excellence in research practice. EMBO helps to shape science and research policy by seeking input and feedback from our community and by following closely the trends in science in Europe. For more information:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.