Public Release: 

P.V. Danckwerts Memorial Lecture awards distinguished Professor Lee

The Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)


IMAGE: This is distinguished Professor Sang Yup Lee. view more 

Credit: KAIST

Distinguished Professor Sang Yup Lee from the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering was selected as the awardee of the 2018 P.V. Danckwerts Memorial Lecture.

Professor Lee was named the recipient in recognition of his distinguished achievements developing innovative eco-friendly and sustainable chemical materials by applying metabolic engineering. The award is co-sponsored by the Chemical Engineering Science, the Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and the European Federation of Chemical Engineering.

The award ceremony and Professor Lee's lecture will be held at the annual meeting of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers in October in Pittsburgh, PA in the US. He will give a lecture titled "Biotechnology to Help Achieve the UN's Sustainable Development Goals."

The P.V. Danckwerts Lecture was established in 1985 in honor of Professor Peter V. Danckwerts at the University of Cambridge who made significant contributions to the chemical engineering field. Professor Danckwerts served as executive editor of the Chemical Engineering Science and the president of the Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Professor Lee, currently the dean of KAIST Institutes, a multi-and interdisciplinary convergence research center, is taking the lead in biotechnology, especially in the field of metabolic engineering.

Professor Lee's research team's novel approaches have been gaining notable attention in the sustainable chemical engineering field and future health care innovations. His team recently presented research on drug-drug and drug-food interactions by using AI, a recombinant E.coli strain that biosynthesizes 60 different nanomaterials covering 35 elements on the periodic table, bio-degradable aromatic polymer's enzyme production, and a molecular mechanism for PET degradation.

With this award, Professor Lee joined other prominent recipients including Dr. Neal Amundson at the University of Houston, the late Professor Octave Levenspiel at Oregon State University, and Professor Rutherford Aris at the University of Minnesota. Professor Lee is the second Asian recipient, following Dr. Mooson Kwauk at the Institute of Process Engineering of the Chinese Academy of Sciences who won the lecture award in 1989.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.