Public Release: 

The 24th Nagoya Medal Award Lectures

The 24th Nagoya Medal of Organic Chemistry

Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University

The Nagoya Medal Award was initially proposed by Professor Hisashi Yamamoto and Professor Ryoji Noyori, and founded in 1995 with Professor Noyori as the president through the financial support of the MSD Life Science Foundation (Banyu). The Nagoya Gold Medal has been awarded every year to an organic chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field in its broadest sense. The first medal was presented to Professor Yoshito Kishi, and many eminent scientists have come to give lectures, including recipients of the Goto Memorial Lectureship started earlier. The Silver Medal, established in 1999, has been awarded every year to a front-runner based in Japan, whose research has a major impact on the field of synthetic organic chemistry. The medals are designed in the shape of a sword guard, an idea proposed by Professors Yamamoto and Noyori. The flowers on the surface are lilies, which are the city flower of Nagoya City, and have the meaning of "kind heart and competitiveness". At the award lectures, the recipients are asked to talk not only about the profundity of their unique chemistry, but also the in-depth philosophy behind it, encouraging young chemists and students. This year, the Gold Medal will be presented to Professor David W. W. MacMillan (Princeton University, USA), and the Silver Medal will be presented to Professor Chihaya Adachi (Kyushu University, Japan). The award winners will give lectures on Thursday, February 28, 2019 at the Noyori Conference Hall of Nagoya University in Japan.

Gold Medalist: Professor David W. W. MacMillan (Princeton University, USA)

Professor David W. C. MacMillan is a James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor at Princeton University from 2006 and he served as Department Chair from 2010-15. He received his undergraduate degree in chemistry at the University of Glasgow, where he worked with Dr. Ernie Colvin. In 1990, he began his doctoral studies under the direction of Professor Larry Overman at the University of California, Irvine, before undertaking a postdoctoral position with Professor Dave Evans at Harvard University (1996). He began his independent career at the University of California, Berkeley in July of 1998 before moving to Caltech in June of 2000 (Earle C. Anthony Chair of Organic Chemistry). His main research interests are in catalysis, including organocatalysis, cascade, synergistic, photoredox and metallaphotoredox and the application of these to the total synthesis of natural products and pharmaceuticals. Dave MacMillan has received a number of awards, including the ACS E. J. Corey Award in 2005, Arthur C. Cope Scholar ACS Award in 2007, Schering Foundation Prize (Berlin) for Outstanding Research in Medicine, Biology or Chemistry in 2015, and Janssen Pharmaceutical Prize in 2016. He is a member of a number of academies and societies, including the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2012 and the National Academy of Sciences in 2018.

Award Lectures:

    1. Becoming a chemist and organocatalysis

    2. Photoredox catalysis, fundamentals and early discoveries

    3. Metallophotoredox and bioconjugation

Group HP:

Silver Medalist: Professor Chihaya Adachi (Kyushu University, Japan)

Professor Chihaya Adachi is a Professor of the Graduate School of Engineering and the Director of the Center of Organic Photonics and Electronics Research (OPERA) at Kyushu University. He received his Bachelor of Science (1986) at Chuo University, and Master of Science (1988) and Ph.D. in Materials Science and Technology (1991) at Kyushu University. After working at RICOH Company Ltd. as a researcher from 1991 to 1996, he became an assistant at Shinshu University in 1996 and a researcher at the Center for Photonics and Optoelectronic Materials at Princeton University in 1999. He was appointed as an Associate Professor in 2001 and began his independent career as a Professor in 2004 at the Chitose Institute of Science and Technology. In 2005, he changed his affiliation to Kyushu University. His research interests are organic optoelectronics, organic semiconductor device properties, organic photophysics and photochemistry. Chihaya Adachi has received a number of awards, including the Japanese MEXT Minister's Science and Technology Award in 2018 and the Thomson Reuters Research Front Award in 2016. He also serves as an editor of the journals Organic Electronics and Scientific Reports.

Award Lectures:

Advanced Molecular Design in Organic Semiconductors: Towards New Generation of OLEDs and Organic Lasers

Group HP:

Event Details:

Date: Thursday, February 28, 2019

Time: 10:00 - 18:00

Venue: Noyori Conference Hall, Nagoya University, Japan


Registration: Free of charge

Please register by sending the following details via e-mail to">

1) Name

2) Affiliation

3) E-mail address


Professor Kenichiro Itami (Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University)

Sponsored by:

The Nagoya Medal of Organic Chemistry Committee

Co-sponsored by:

Institute of Transformative Bio-Molecules (ITbM), Nagoya University

Financial support by:

MSD Life Science Foundation

Supported by:

The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

The Chemical Society of Japan

Japan Society of Bioscience, Biotechnology and Agrochemistry

The Pharmaceutical Society of Japan

The Society of Polymer Science, Japan


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.