News Release 

Jonathan S. Lewin, M.D., named 2019 ARRS Gold Medalist

American Roentgen Ray Society

Leesburg, VA, May 5, 2019--Jonathan S. Lewin has been named recipient of the ARRS Gold Medal for 2019. The award is the ARRS' highest honor, awarded to recipients for distinguished service to radiology.

Lewin serves as executive vice president for health affairs at Emory University, and as executive director for Emory's Woodruff Health Sciences Center, as well as president and CEO of Emory Healthcare and chair of the Board of Directors of Emory Healthcare. At Emory, he is professor of radiology and imaging sciences, professor of biomedical engineering, and professor of health policy and management.

Prior to his Emory appointment, Lewin served as the Martin Donner professor and chair of the Russell H. Morgan Department of Radiology and Radiological Science at Johns Hopkins University and the radiologist in chief at Johns Hopkins Hospital from 2004 until 2016, with secondary appointments as professor of oncology, neurosurgery and biomedical engineering. From 2012 to 2016 he also served as co-chair for strategic planning and from 2013 to 2016 as senior vice president for integrated health care delivery for Johns Hopkins Medicine.

Before joining the faculty of Johns Hopkins, Lewin was the director of the Division of Magnetic Resonance Imaging at University Hospitals of Cleveland and professor and vice chairman for research and academic affairs in the Department of Radiology at Case Western Reserve University.

Lewin received his undergraduate degree in chemistry from Brown University in 1981 and his doctor of medicine from Yale University in 1985. Following his internship in pediatrics at Yale-New Haven Hospital and residency in diagnostic radiology at University Hospitals of Cleveland, he completed a magnetic resonance research fellowship in Germany, a neuroradiology fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic, and additional training in head and neck radiology at the Pittsburgh Eye and Ear Hospital.

Lewin served as president of ARRS from 2015 to 2016. He has also served as president of the Society of Chairs of Academic Radiology Departments, the Association of University Radiologists, the International Society for Strategic Studies in Radiology, and the Academy for Radiology Research. He has served on numerous national committees, editorial boards and grant review groups for foundations and the National Institutes of Health, and on the Task Force on Minimally-Invasive Cancer Therapy of the National Cancer Institute.

A pioneer in interventional and intraoperative MR imaging, Lewin has published more than 200 peer-reviewed scientific manuscripts and 70 book chapters, reviews, commentaries and other invited papers on topics including the basic science and clinical aspects of interventional MR imaging, functional MR imaging, head and neck imaging, MR angiography, small animal imaging and the imaging of acute stroke. He is an inventor on more than 25 patents, and has been PI or co-PI on NIH and other federal and state grants with awards of more than 10 million dollars, as well as a co-investigator on a number of other grants and projects.

Modern Healthcare named Lewin one of the 50 Most Influential Physicians of 2017. He was also named one of the Most Influential Atlantans of 2016, 2017, and 2018 by the Atlanta Business Chronicle and one of the 100 Most Influential Georgians of 2018 and 2019 by Georgia Trend.


Founded in 1900, ARRS is the first and oldest radiology society in the United States and is an international forum for progress in radiology. The Society's mission is to improve health through a community committed to advancing knowledge and skills in radiology. ARRS achieves its mission through an annual scientific and educational meeting, publication of the American Journal of Roentgenology (AJR) and InPractice magazine, topical symposia and webinars, and print and online educational materials. ARRS is located in Leesburg, VA.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.