News Release 

National Cancer Research Institute reveals winners of first Excellence Awards

National Cancer Research Institute

London, UK: The National Cancer Research Institute (NCRI) has revealed the winners of its first Excellence Awards:

  • Collaboration Award: Paediatric Adolescent Wildtype & Syndromic-Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumour (PAWS-GIST) Alliance nominated by Jayne Bressington

  • Impact Award: Paul Pharoah and Jem Rashbass at the Department of Cancer Epidemiology, University of Cambridge nominated by Alexandra Freeman

  • Innovation Award: Mathew Garnett, Translational Cancer Genomics Group Leader, Wellcome Sanger Institute nominated by Alexandra Bonner

  • Outstanding Contribution to the NCRI Award: Richard Stephens, Former Chair of the NCRI Consumer Forum nominated by Emma Kinloch, Roger Wilson, Terry Kavanagh and Yuki Alencar.

The Awards have been created to celebrate the 15th year anniversary of the NCRI Cancer Conference and are directly linked to the key strategic objectives of the partnership, which aims to accelerate progress in cancer research through collaboration.

"We are delighted to recognise and honour the achievements made by these individuals and teams who have worked effortlessly in the community to help accelerate progress in cancer research for the benefit of patients and society," said Dr Iain Frame, CEO of NCRI.

The nominations were reviewed and shortlisted by an independent panel with representatives of the NCRI Partners and the NCRI Cancer Conference Scientific Committee. Dr Frame continued: "We received many high-quality submissions and the panel had a tough decision to make but they felt the shortlisted entries matched all criteria, often surpassing expectations."


The Awards will be presented on Monday 4th November at the NCRI Cancer Conference taking place in Glasgow at the Scottish Event Campus. Registration for the Conference is still available on .

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.