News Release 

#Spreadingfacts: Communicating science for a better world

The MIT Press

There is widespread concern today that the gap between scientific and public understanding on issues such as climate change, GMOs, and vaccine safety may be growing, and ample recent evidence that lies, unfortunately, spread faster than truths.

At #SpreadingFacts, you'll join experts in the practice and art of science communication and journalism for a day focused on understanding and maximizing the public trust in -- and impact of -- evidence-based research. Advances in science and technology are, after all, our strongest ammunition in facing urgent global challenges, and effective public communication a critical ingredient in ensuring and amplifying research impact.

Co-hosts: Amy Brand, Director, The MIT Press and Co-founder, Knowledge Futures Group; Elizabeth Bramson-Boudreau, Chief Executive Officer and Publisher, MIT Technology Review; Gideon Lichfield, Editor in Chief, MIT Technology Review

Keynote: Marcia McNutt, President, National Academy of Sciences


Deborah Blum, Director, Knight Science Journalism Program, MIT

Chris Bourg, Director, MIT Libraries

Dianna Cowern, Creator, Physics Girl

Beth Daley, Editor and General Manager, The Conversation US

Mariette DiChristina, Dean, Boston University College of Communication

Cathy Drennan, Professor of Chemistry and Biology, MIT

Arielle Duhaime-Ross, Host, Reset (A podcast from Recode by Vox)

Linda Henry, Managing Director, Boston Globe Media Partners

Carolyn Johnson, Science Reporter, The Washington Post

Clifford Johnson, Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of Southern California

Dan Kahan, Elizabeth K. Dollard Professor of Law and Professor of Psychology, Yale Law School

David Kaiser, Germeshausen Professor of the History of Science, and Professor of Physics, MIT

Imran Khan, Head of Public Engagement, Wellcome

Sunshine Menezes, Executive Director, Metcalf Institute and Clinical Associate Professor of Environmental Communication, Metcalf Institute, University of Rhode Island

Christine O'Connell, Executive Director, Riley's Way Foundation

Ainissa Ramirez, Scientist and Author of The Alchemy of Us

John Randell, John E. Bryson Director of Science, Engineering, and Technology Programs, American Academy of Arts and Sciences

David Rotman, Editor at Large, MIT Technology Review

Deb Roy, Professor, MIT Media Lab

Grant Sanderson, Creator, 3Blue1Brown

Sanjay Sarma, Vice President for Open Learning, MIT

Arvind Satyanarayan, Assistant Professor of Computer Science, MIT

Charles Seife, Professor, New York University

Gabe Stein, Product Lead, PubPub

Doron Weber, Vice President and Program Director, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation

Rick Weiss, Director, SciLine

Ethan Zuckerman, Director, Center for Civic Media, MIT


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.