News Release 

Irish institutions to benefit from IOP Publishing transformative agreement

Four-year read and publish agreement signed with IReL

IOP Publishing

Science Business Announcement


IMAGE: Open access allows materials to be distributed online, free of cost or other access barriers. view more 

Credit: Open access logo designed by the Public Library of Science

Through the 'read and publish' agreement, which lasts until the end of 2024, authors affiliated with eight member institutions of the consortium can publish open access papers in IOPP's hybrid journals, with no article publication charges for qualifying articles at the point of publication. *

Articles will be published under an open licence (CC-BY), allowing authors to retain copyright on their work. Another feature of the transformative agreement is that researchers, staff and students at the participating institutions will have reading access to over 80 prestigious journals.

Julian Wilson, sales and marketing director at IOP Publishing said: "In 2020 we increased open access publishing in our hybrid journals by over 70%, which was driven by the growth of our transformative agreements. We're delighted to have reached this agreement with IReL to increase the demand for open access publishing whilst also helping to distribute research more widely by providing read access."

Jack Hyland, IReL manager said: "We're very happy to be entering this new chapter in our relationship with IOP Publishing, which will help in the transition to making Irish research publication open by default. This agreement will make open access as easy as possible for authors, so we're looking forward to seeing its benefits over the next four years."


*4 of the 56 journals carry an additional page charge not covered by the agreement.

About IReL

IReL is a nationally funded e-resource licensing consortium in Ireland. The institutions included in the agreement with IReL are Dublin City University, Maynooth University, National University of Ireland, Galway, Technological University Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, University College Cork, University College Dublin, and the University of Limerick.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.