Skip to main content




About IADR: The International Association for Dental Research (IADR) was established in 1920 to promote research in all aspects of oral and related sciences, to encourage development of improved methods for prevention and treatment of oral and dental diseases, and to facilitate cooperation among investigators and communication of research findings and their implications throughout the world.

Currently, IADR has nearly 11,000 members, including 1,900 students. Members conduct research in nearly every country around the world, including the United States, Egypt, Scandinavia, Venezuela, Chile, China, India, and Russia.

The IADR and its largest Division, the American Association for Dental Research, share a Central Office and headquarters building in Alexandria, Virginia, a suburb of Washington, DC.

PROFESSIONAL JOURNALS: The Journal of Dental Research (JDR) was founded by Dr. William J. Gies in 1919. Published monthly, the JDR is the premier dental research journal in the world today and is the official professional journal of the IADR and the AADR. The JDR is dedicated to the dissemination of new knowledge and information on all sciences relevant to dentistry and to the oral cavity and associated structures in health and disease. The Associations also publish: Advances in Dental Research, a forum for proceedings of conferences and symposia, and Critical Reviews in Oral Biology & Medicine (CROBM) (official publication of the American Association of Oral Biologists). JDR and CROBM are full-text online via HighWire Press ( ORGANIZATION AND MEMBERSHIP: Membership is open to qualified individuals who are engaged in or interested in dental research, or in other scientific disciplines related to oral health. The IADR has 23 geographical Divisions and Sections. Also, there are 21 Scientific Groups representing special research interests, the first of which was formed in 1939 as the Dental Materials Group. Additional special interest Groups include behavioral sciences & health services research, cariology, craniofacial biology, dental anesthesiology, diagnostic systems, education research, geriatric oral research, implantology research, microbiology/immunology, mineralized tissue, neuroscience/TMJ, nutrition, oral health research, oral pathology and medicine, oral & maxillofacial surgery, periodontal research, pharmacology/therapeutics/toxicology, prosthodontics, pulp biology, and salivary research.

MEETINGS: Historically, two years out of three, the IADR and AADR have met jointly at a site in North America. The third year, each Association met separately, the AADR in North America and the IADR outside North America. This is a joint-meeting year. Beginning in 2005, the cycle will shift to every other year.

At this meeting in San Diego, 4,155 scientific papers will be presented in the various Group subject areas.

The Officers of the IADR are:

President: Dr. Graham Embery, University of Liverpool, UK
Immediate Past President: Dr. Marjorie Jeffcoat, University of Alabama-Birmingham, USA
President-elect: Dr. John Clarkson, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland
Vice-president: Dr. Stephen Challacombe, GKT Dental Institute, London, UK
Vice-president-elect: Dr. Paul Robertson, University of Washington, Seattle, USA
Treasurer: Dr. Edwin Yen, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
Immediate Past Treasurer: Dr. John W. Stamm, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA
Editor: Dr. Mark Herzberg, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA
Members-at-Large: Dr. Susan Reisine, University of Connecticut, Farmington, USA
Dr. Gunnar Bergenholtz, University of Gteborg, Sweden
Dr.Hector Lanfranchi, Capital Federal, Argentina
Executive Director: Dr. Eli Schwarz, Alexandria, VA, USA

The Central Office of the IADR is located at 1619 Duke Street, Alexandria, Virginia 22314-3406, USA. Telephone, +703-548-0066; FAX, +703-548-1883; e-mail,; Web site,

This is the 80th General Session of the International Association for Dental Research and is held in conjunction with the annual meetings of the American Association for Dental Research and the Canadian Association for Dental Research.

The Officers of the AADR are:

President: Dr. Martha Somerman, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Immediate Past President: Dr. Steven Offenbacher, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
President-elect: Dr. Charles Bertolami, University of California, San Francisco
Vice-president: Dr. Kenneth Anusavice, University of Florida, Gainesville
Vice-president-elect: Dr. Dominick DePaola, The Forsyth Institute, Boston, MA
Treasurer: Dr. Marc Heft, University of Florida, Gainesville
Editor: Dr. Mark Herzberg, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
Members-at-Large: Dr. Matthew Doyle, Procter & Gamble, Cincinnati, OH
Dr. Paul Moore, University of Pittsburgh, PA

The Officers of the CADR are:

President: Dr. Antonio Nanci, University of Montreal
Immediate Past President: Dr. Hardy Limeback, University of Toronto
President-elect: Dr. Richard Ellen, University of Toronto
Vice-president: Dr. Donald Brunette, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Charles E. Smith, McGill University, Montreal