News Release

BU professor emeritus honored by the American Urological Association

Grant and Award Announcement

Boston University School of Medicine

(Boston)—Richard K. Babayan, MD, professor emeritus and former chair of the department of urology at Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine, has been awarded the 2024 Robert C. Flanigan Education Award from the American Urological Association (AUA).

Each year, the AUA honors the contributions of physician-researchers and educators to the field of medicine, the specialty of urology and the AUA. Babayan was recognized for inspiring leadership and mentorship of residents and medical students, thus supporting future generations of urologists.

Babayan served as chief of urology at Boston Medical Center (BMC) until his retirement in 2022. In total, he served the BMC/BU community for 43 years.

A graduate of Tufts University, Babayan received his medical degree at Indiana University School of Medicine in 1975. He completed his surgical training at Yale-New Haven Hospital before completing his urology residency at University Hospital (now BMC) in 1980. From 1980 to 1982, Babayan was an AUA Research Scholar, performing basic science research in the field of hyperthermia at both MIT and BU.  

Babayan was an active investigator in the treatment of prostate cancer and performed the first robot-assisted radical prostatectomy in Boston in 2005. His clinical interests included prostate cancer, urologic oncology, minimally invasive urologic surgery for benign prostatic hyperplasia and endourology (minimally invasive techniques to treat kidney stones).

Babayan has been an active participant in local, national and international urologic organizations. In addition to holding the office of president of the AUA from 2016-17, he also served as treasurer and past president and as a New England Section representative to the AUA board of directors from 2005 to 2009. In 2011, Babayan received the AUA's Distinguished Service Award, and in 2013, the New England Section awarded him with the Joseph B. Dowd Lifetime Achievement Award.



Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.