News Release

ASBMB announces 2024 class of fellows

Grant and Award Announcement

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology today announced its 2024 class of fellows. The honorific program recognizes scientists who have made outstanding contributions to the field through their research, teaching, mentoring or other forms of service.

Edward Eisenstein, an associate professor of bioengineering at the University of Maryland and ASBMB Membership Committee chair, and Judith Bond, an adjunct professor of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and chair of the ASBMB Fellows Program Subcommittee, wrote in a joint statement: “The 17 ASBMB fellows in the 2024 class have shown immense commitment to ASBMB and represent an outstanding group of scientists ... It is an honor to have these individuals represent ASBMB, and we look forward to their continued contributions as role models and mentors to current and future members of the biochemistry and molecular biology community.”

The society will recognize the 17 new fellows at its annual meeting, Discover BMB, in March in San Antonio. The presentation will be part of the society's presidential address on Saturday, March 23.

The fellows are:

  • Toni M. Antalis, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • David A. Bernlohr, University of Minnesota
  • Joan W. Conaway, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Kathleen Cornely, Providence College
  • Martha S. Cyert, Stanford University
  • Nicholas O. Davidson, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
  • Matthew S. Gentry, University of Florida College of Medicine
  • Marina K. Holz, New York Medical College
  • Mary O. Huff, Bellarmine University
  • Peter J. Kennelly, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Bettie Sue Masters, Duke University Medical Center
  • Richard C. Page, Miami University
  • Jennifer Roecklein–Canfield, Simmons University
  • Christopher E. Rohlman, Albion College
  • Walter A. Shaw, Avanti Polar Lipids Inc.
  • John T. Tansey, Otterbein University
  • Brian W. Wattenberg, Virginia Commonwealth University

About the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB)

The ASBMB is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization with more than 12,000 members worldwide. Founded in 1906 to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology, the society publishes three peer-reviewed journals, advocates for funding of basic research and education, supports science education at all levels, and promotes the diversity of individuals entering the scientific workforce.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.