News Release

N. Ross Chapman selected as 2024 Recipient of the Walter Munk Medal

For applications of advanced signal processing approaches to acoustical oceanography and contributions to geo-acoustic inversions

Grant and Award Announcement

The Oceanography Society

N. Ross Chapman


The Oceanography Society congratulates N. Ross Chapman on his selection as the 2024 recipient of the Walter Munk Medal.

view more 

Credit: N. Ross Chapman

The Oceanography Society (TOS) congratulates N. Ross Chapman for being selected as the 2024 recipient of The Oceanography Society’s Walter Munk Medal. The citation on his certificate recognizes him for applications of advanced signal processing approaches to acoustical oceanography and contributions to geo-acoustic inversions.

Among Dr. Chapman’s many achievements, the Medal Selection Committee noted his extraordinary contributions to geo-acoustic inversions, acoustic propagation modeling, ambient noise measurements, detection and characterization of gas hydrate deposits in marine sediments, and early innovation of advanced signal processing techniques to enable advances in acoustical oceanography and underwater acoustics. The committee was also impressed with his strong overall publication record and commitment to excellence in advising and mentoring the next generation of Ocean Acousticians.

Dr. Chapman is Professor Emeritus at the School of Earth and Ocean Sciences, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. He received his BSc in physics from McMaster University and a Ph.D. in physics from the University of British Columbia. He is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, and was Editor in Chief of the IEEE Journal of Oceanic Engineering.

His achievements will be celebrated during The Oceanography Society’s Honors Breakfast taking place on February 21, 2024, during the Ocean Sciences Meeting.


The Walter Munk Medal is awarded biennially to an individual for extraordinary accomplishments and novel insights contributing to the advancement or application of physical oceanography, ocean acoustics, or marine geophysics. Additionally, the Munk Medal seeks to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions toward educating and mentoring students and early career ocean professionals or who have conducted significant interdisciplinary research and/or collaborative work towards meaningful societal impact. To learn more about the Walter Munk Medal, visit: The Oceanography Society (TOS) was founded in 1988 to advance oceanographic research, technology, and education, and to disseminate knowledge of oceanography and its application through research and education.

TOS promotes the broad understanding of oceanography, facilitates consensus-building across all the disciplines of the field, and informs the public about ocean research, innovative technology, and educational opportunities throughout the spectrum of oceanographic inquiry. TOS welcomes members from all nations. Any individual, business, or organization interested in ocean sciences is encouraged to join and to participate in the activities and benefits of the society. For more information, visit

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.