News Release

IADR announces winners of the 2024 Innovation in Oral Care Awards

Grant and Award Announcement

International Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research

Alexandria, VA, USA – The International Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (IADR) has announced the winners of the 2024 IADR Innovation in Oral Care Awards. The winners were recognized during the Opening Ceremonies of the 102nd General Session of the IADR, which was held in conjunction with the 53rd Annual Meeting of the American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research and the 48th Annual Meeting of the Canadian Association for Dental Research, on March 13-16, 2024, in New Orleans, LA, USA.

Each of the winners will receive $50,000, which is funded by an unrestricted grant from Haleon and administered by IADR. The winners are:

  • Geelsu Hwang
    University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA
    Adhesive, Drug Loadable, pH-adjusting Nanoparticle for Targeting Yeast-Bacterial Interactions and Cariogenic Biofilm Formation 
  • Rania Nassar
    Mohammed Bin Rashid University, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Unlocking the Potential of IP6: Translating Dental Research into Over-the- Counter Products and Advanced Material Coatings
  • Silvana Papagerakis
    Université Laval, Quebec City, Canada
    An Innovative Flexible Intra-Oral Device for Real-Time Monitoring of Salivary Biomarkers: Precision Oral Health Approaches

The Innovation in Oral Care Awards offer opportunities for investigators to conduct dental research that will have a direct impact on the oral health of the public. Now in its 21st year of award support, Haleon has contributed more than US$4 million to the Awards program.

About IADR
The International Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research (IADR) is a nonprofit organization with a mission to drive dental, oral, and craniofacial research for health and well-being worldwide. IADR represents the individual scientists, clinician-scientists, dental professionals, and students based in academic, government, non-profit, and private-sector institutions who share our mission. Learn more at

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.