News Release

The Protein Society announces its 2024 award recipients

Grant and Award Announcement

The Protein Society

LOS ANGELES, CA – The Protein Society, the premier international society dedicated to supporting protein research, announces the winners of the 2024 Protein Society Awards, which will be conferred at the 38th Anniversary Symposium, July 23 – 26, 2024, in Vancouver, Canada. Plenary talks from select award recipients will take place throughout the 3.5-day event. The winners’ scientific accomplishments, described by their nominators below, demonstrate their lasting impact on protein science.

The Christian B. Anfinsen Award, sponsored by The Protein Society, recognizes technological achievement or significant methodological advances in the field of protein science. The 2024 recipient of this award is Professor Neil Kelleher (Northwestern University). Dr. Kelleher has made seminal contributions in the field of top-down proteomics. His life’s work in proteomics promises to yield far-reaching and revolutionary impacts across biological sciences and medicine.

The Carl Brändén Award, sponsored by Rigaku Corporation, honors an outstanding protein scientist who has also made exceptional contributions in the areas of education and/or service to the field. The 2024 recipient of this award is Professor Tamir Gonen (University of California, Los Angeles). Dr. Gonen’s research focuses on the study of membrane proteins and the development of novel structural biology methods, particularly microcrystal electron diffraction (MicroED). He has led training for thousands of protein biochemists and structural biologists worldwide in the use of this powerful technique.

The Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award, sponsored by Rigaku Corporation, is granted in recognition of exceptional contributions in protein science which profoundly influence our understanding of biology. The 2024 recipient is Professor Margaret Sunde (University of Sydney). Dr. Sunde is renowned for her pioneering studies of the structure and function of biological assemblies known as amyloid. Her seminal contributions have illuminated our understanding of pathogenic or beneficial roles of these common, yet structurally and functionally diverse assemblies.

The Marie Maynard Daly Award, the newest award sponsored by The Protein Society, recognizes groundbreaking research at the interface between protein science and human health. The 2024 recipient is Professor Alexandra C. Newton (University of California, San Diego). Dr. Newton has made ground-breaking discoveries about the structure and function of protein kinase C and paradigm-changing understanding of how disease mutations in this enzyme drive cancer and neurodegenerative diseases.

The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award, sponsored by generous individual contributions, recognizes a recent, highly significant contribution to the application of chemistry in the study of proteins. The 2024 recipient is Professor David Craik (The University of Queensland). Dr. Craik is recognized for his pioneering work on ‘cyclotides.’ He established a world-leading research program that has led to the discovery, structural characterization, and applications of these novel peptides.

The Hans Neurath Award, sponsored by the Hans Neurath Foundation, honors individuals who have made a recent contribution of exceptional merit to basic protein research. The 2024 recipient is Professor David Cortez (Vanderbilt University). Dr. Cortez is a world-renowned leader in the area of DNA damage response and repair mechanisms and the pathophysiology of cancer, where he has developed and applied very creative technological approaches to identify and characterize proteins involved in DNA and genome maintenance.

The Stein & Moore Award, sponsored by The Protein Society and with support from Wiley, is named for Nobel laureates Dr. William Stein and Dr. Stanford Moore. The award recognizes eminent leaders in protein science who have made sustained, high-impact research contributions to the field. The 2024 recipient is Professor Jeffery W. Kelly (The Scripps Research Institute). Dr. Kelly has made major contributions to the understanding of the mechanisms of peptide and protein folding and misfolding, culminating in his development of new treatments for amyloid diseases, with very important implications for basic science and human health.

The Protein Science Young Investigator Award, sponsored by Wiley, recognizes scientists within their first 8 years of an independent career at the time of nomination who have made an important contribution to the study of proteins. The 2024 recipient is Professor Gabriela Schlau-Cohen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Dr. Schlau-Cohen's innovative and multidisciplinary developments and applications of spectroscopic methods have led to a widespread understanding of fundamental biological processes such as photosynthesis and signal transduction by membrane protein receptors.

Delegates, exhibitors, sponsors, and the press can learn more about the 38th Annual Symposium on The Protein Society website

# # #

The Protein Society is the leading international Society devoted to furthering research and development in protein science. Founded in 1986, the purpose of the Society is to provide international forums to facilitate communication, cooperation, and collaboration regarding all aspects of the study of proteins. In support of these goals, the Society publishes Protein Science, the premier journal in the field, hosts an annual international symposium, and facilitates the education of early-career protein scientists across all lines of the discipline. The Protein Society members represent a wide spectrum of academic, industry, governmental, and non-profit institutions from more than 40 countries around the world. Media inquiries can be directed to Raluca Cadar, Chief Executive Officer at 844.377.6834.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.