News Release

BPS announces 2019 Society Fellows

Grant and Award Announcement

Biophysical Society

ROCKVILLE, MD - The Biophysical Society (BPS) announced its 2019 Society Fellows. This designation honors the Society's distinguished members who have demonstrated excellence in science, contributed to the expansion of the field of biophysics, and supported the Biophysical Society throughout their careers. The Fellows will be honored at the Awards Ceremony during the Biophysical Society's 63rd Annual Meeting in March 2019 at the Baltimore Convention Center, Maryland. The Fellows are:

Marileen Dogterom, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, for her pioneering experimental work on elucidating the physical mechanisms that govern assembly and dynamics of cytoskeleton filaments, in particular microtubules.

Judith Frydman, Stanford University, USA, for her fundamental contributions to deciphering the role of molecular chaperones in protein folding, quality control, and cell regulation.

Gilad Haran, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel, for his outstanding contributions to the development and applications of single-molecule methods for studying folding of single- and multi-domain proteins.

Stefan Hell, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany, for his pioneering development of stimulated emission depletion (STED) microscopy, radically overcoming the Abbe resolution limit and permitting to record fast movements within living cells.

Kenneth Johnson, University of Texas-Austin, USA, for his sustained contributions to biophysics and for his impactful studies using advanced enzyme kinetics in a wide variety of systems.

Zaida Luthey-Schulten, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA, for the development of ribosomal dynamics and whole cell simulations, modelling diffusion-reaction networks and metabolic pathways within entire cells.

Rohit Pappu, Washington University in St. Louis, USA, for ingeniously implementing polymer physics approaches and molecular simulations to characterize intrinsically disordered proteins.


The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to lead development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.