News Release

Gold medalists announcements top ARRS Annual Meeting festivities

Grant and Award Announcement

American Roentgen Ray Society

The ARRS 2017 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, April 30-May 5 will attract the world's leading radiologists representing 13 subspecialities who will share knowledge and experiences with their peers. Opening ceremonies Sunday, April 30 include the introduction of the Gold Medal winners honored for their distinguished service to medical imaging. This year's winners are:

  • Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., dean of the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine. An influential scientist and national leader in the radiology community, Beauchamp has received numerous awards for his research and has published more than 100 peer-reviewed papers. His research focuses on developing advanced MRI imaging techniques to extend the treatment window for acute ischemic stroke and to identify risk predictors for stroke and dementia. Beauchamp is chair of the International Outreach Committee of the American Roentgen Ray Society, sits on the board of directors of the Society of Chairs of Academic Radiology Departments, and is past president of both of those organizations.

  • Robert A. Novelline, professor emeritus of radiology at Harvard Medical School and former director of the Massachusetts General Hospital Emergency Radiology Division. Novelline is a sought-after reviewer having provided editorial services to the Journal of Trauma, Journal of the American College of Radiology, the European Journal of Radiology, among others. His major research interests are in evaluation of multidetector CT in trauma diagnosis, including the design and testing of new trauma protocols; three-dimensional multidetector CT of skeletal and vascular injuries; and the evaluation of new multidetector CT techniques in the diagnosis of non-traumatic abdominal emergencies (appendicitis, diverticulitis, ureteral stone disease and bowel obstruction).


The Gold Medal is ARRS' highest honor awarded to recipients for distinguished service in radiology and has been presented since 1983.

To view full biographies on the Gold Medal recipients and for more information on the annual meeting, visit

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.