News Release

AGS recognizes expert and emerging geriatrics leaders at 2021 Virtual Annual Scientific Meeting

Grant and Award Announcement

American Geriatrics Society

AGS 2021 Virtual Annual Scientific Meeting

image: The AGS 2021 Virtual Annual Scientific Meeting will take place May 13-15 (pre-conference on May 12). view more 

Credit: American Geriatrics Society

New York (April 30, 2021)--The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) annually recognizes researchers, clinicians, educators, and emerging health professionals who have made outstanding contributions to high-quality, person-centered care for older people. This year's awardees include 15 healthcare leaders representing the breadth of disciplines championing care for us all as we age. The AGS 2021 Virtual Annual Scientific Meeting will celebrate their accomplishments alongside award recipients from last year, due to the cancellation of #AGS20.

Arti Hurria Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in Internal Medicine Who are Focused on the Care of Older Adults

* Megan Husingh-Scheetz (University of Chicago)

Clinician of the Year Award

* Faith Atai, MD (The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston)

Clinical Student Research Award

* Linda Phung (Duke University School of Medicine)

Dennis W. Jahnigen Memorial Award

* Helen Fernandez, MD, MPH (Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai)

Health in Aging Foundation New Investigator Awards

* Scott Bauer, MD, MS (University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine)

* Kah Poh (Melissa) Loh, MBBCh., BAO (University of Rochester Medical Center)

* Stephanie Nothelle, MD (Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine)

* Ambarish Pandey, MD (UT Southwestern Medical Center)

Jeffrey H. Silverstein Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in the Surgical & Related Medical Specialties

* Lindsay Hampson, MD, MAS (University of California, San Francisco)

Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator of the Year Award

* Pie Chen, MD (University of California, San Francisco)

Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year Award

* Lauren Ferrante, MD, MHS (Yale School of Medicine)

Outstanding Junior Research Manuscript Award

* Jennifer Watt, MD, PhD (St. Michael's Hospital)

Outstanding Junior Clinician Educator Award

* Anna Goroncy, MD (Christ Hospital/University of Cincinnati College of Medicine)

Outstanding Mid-Career Clinician Educator of the Year Award

* Jorge Mora, MD (Florida International University, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine)

Scientist-in-Training Research Award

* Anabella Pinto (University of Chicago)


About the American Geriatrics Society

Founded in 1942, the American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals that has--for more than 75 years--worked to improve the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Its nearly 6,000 members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists. The Society provides leadership to healthcare professionals, policymakers, and the public by implementing and advocating for programs in patient care, research, professional and public education, and public policy. For more information, visit

About the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting

The AGS Annual Scientific Meeting is the premier educational event in geriatrics, providing the latest information on clinical care, research on aging, and innovative models of care delivery. More than 2,500 nurses, pharmacists, physicians, physician assistants, social workers, long-term care and managed care providers, healthcare administrators, and others will convene virtually May 13-15, 2021 (pre-conference program on May 12), to advance geriatrics knowledge and skills through state-of-the-art educational sessions and research presentations. For more information, visit

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.