News Release

The Association for Molecular Pathology announces 2014 award recipients

Awards recognize leadership and excellence in the field of molecular pathology

Grant and Award Announcement

Association for Molecular Pathology

Uta Francke, Stanford University

image: Uta Francke, MD accepts AMP Award for Excellence at the AMP 2014 Annual Meeting on Nov. 12, 2014. view more 

Credit: Eddie Arrossi Photography

The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP), the premier global, non-profit organization serving molecular testing professionals and leading education initiatives, discussions, and policy actions central to improving the development and application of molecular diagnostics, announced its 2014 award winners. Recipients of the Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics, Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award, and AMP Meritorious Service Award were presented at the AMP Annual Meeting this past week in National Harbor, Maryland.

Uta Francke, MD, Professor Emeritus of Genetics, Pediatrics/Medical Genetics at Stanford University received the AMP Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics and Aaron D. Bossler, MD, PhD, Director of Molecular Pathology Laboratory and Molecular Genetic Pathology Fellowship Program at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics received the AMP Meritorious Service Award. Both awards were presented by AMP President, Elaine Lyon, PhD.

"AMP's highest award, the Award for Excellence in Molecular Diagnostics recognizes the lifetime of special achievements by Dr. Franke across several fields in molecular diagnostics and medicine. The Meritorious Service Award recognizes Dr. Bossler's exceptional contributions, over time and often behind-the-scenes, to provide invaluable service to AMP, its membership, and to the profession overall," said Dr. Elaine Lyon. "We're thrilled to honor both Drs. Francke and Bossler and their ongoing devotion to advancing the clinical practice of molecular medicine."

The Jeffrey A. Kant Leadership Award, which recognizes the exceptional leadership in advancing the mission and goals of AMP was presented by AMP President Elect, Janina Longtine, MD, The Mount Sinai Medical Center, to AMP President, Dr. Lyon, Medical Director, Genetics Division, ARUP Laboratories.

"We're excited to recognize Dr. Lyon for her remarkable guidance and direction this past year. She's played a pivotal role in helping AMP address key issues important to our membership," said Dr. Longtine.


About the Association for Molecular Pathology

The Association for Molecular Pathology (AMP) was founded in 1994 to provide structure and leadership to what was, at the time, the newly‐emerging field of molecular diagnostics. Through the efforts of its Board of Directors, Committees, Working Groups, and members, AMP has established itself as the primary resource for expertise, education, and collaboration on what is now one of the fastest growing fields in healthcare. AMP members influence policy and regulation on the national and international levels; ultimately serving to advance innovation in the field and protect patient access to high quality, appropriate testing.

AMP's 2,300+ members include individuals from academic and community medical centers, government, and industry; including, basic and translational scientists, pathologist and doctoral scientist laboratory directors, medical technologists, and trainees. AMP members span the globe with members in more than 45 countries and a growing number of AMP International Affiliate Organizations. The number of AMP members is growing rapidly; they are united by the goal of advancing the science and implementation of molecular and genomic laboratory medicine. For more information, please visit

Alternate Contact

Maurissa Messier

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.