News Release

American Society for Microbiology honors Millicent Goldschmidt

Grant and Award Announcement

American Society for Microbiology

The 2009 American Society for Microbiology (ASM) Roche Diagnostics Alice C. Evans Award will be presented to Millicent Goldschmidt, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Medical School, The University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston. This award recognizes contributions toward the full participation and advancement of women in microbiology and is given in honor of Alice C. Evans, the first woman elected ASM President in 1928.

Throughout her career Dr. Goldschmidt has supported women's participation in science by personally mentoring and being an excellent role model. She is an active member and supporter of Purdue University's "Women in Science Program," which tries to interest freshmen female scientists in a career in science. Dr. Goldschmidt is the past President of the Gulf Chapter of the Association of Women in Science and has received countless awards for her teaching, achievements, leadership, and service.

Dr. Goldschmidt has been an active ASM member and volunteer since 1975. She recognized the need for encouraging women at the postdoctoral level to pursue their science. At her urging, the ASM established two Women's Career Development grants to be given yearly to women postdoctoral fellows with outstanding accomplishments and potential to carry out research in the area of microbiology.

Dr. Goldschmidt, a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, received her Ph.D. from Purdue University.


The Roche Diagnostics Alice C. Evans Award will be presented during the 109th General Meeting of the ASM, May 17-21, 2009 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. ASM is the world's oldest and largest life science organization and has more than 43,000 members worldwide. ASM's mission is to advance the microbiological sciences and promote the use of scientific knowledge for improved health and economic and environmental well-being.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.