News Release

PNAS announces 6 2016 Cozzarelli Prize recipients

Grant and Award Announcement

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

WASHINGTON - The Editorial Board of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) has selected six papers published by PNAS in 2016 to receive the Cozzarelli Prize, an award that recognizes outstanding contributions to the scientific disciplines represented by the National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Papers were chosen from the more than 3,100 research articles that appeared in the journal last year and represent the six broadly defined classes under which the NAS is organized.

The annual Cozzarelli Prize acknowledges papers that reflect scientific excellence and originality. The award was established in 2005 as the Paper of the Year Prize and was renamed in 2007 to honor late PNAS Editor-in-Chief Nicholas R. Cozzarelli. The 2016 awards will be presented at the PNAS Editorial Board meeting, and awardees will be recognized at an awards ceremony, during the NAS Annual Meeting on April 30, 2017, in Washington, DC.

2016 Cozzarelli Prize Recipients

Class I (Physical and Mathematical Sciences):

"Quantum violation of the pigeonhole principle and the nature of quantum correlations," by Yakir Aharonov, Fabrizio Colombo, Sandu Popescu, Irene Sabadini, Daniele C. Struppa, and Jeff Tollaksen

Class II (Biological Sciences):

"Complete in vitro generation of fertile oocytes from mouse primordial germ cells," by Kanako Morohaku, Ren Tanimoto, Keisuke Sasaki, Ryouka Kawahara-Miki, Tomohiro Kono, Katsuhiko Hayashi, Yuji Hirao, and Yayoi Obata

Accompanying commentary:

Class III (Engineering and Applied Sciences):

"Superresolution intrinsic fluorescence imaging of chromatin utilizing native, unmodified nucleic acids for contrast," by Biqin Dong, Luay M. Almassalha, Yolanda Stypula-Cyrus, Ben E. Urban, John E. Chandler, The-Quyen Nguyen, Cheng Sun, Hao F. Zhang, and Vadim Backman

Class IV (Biomedical Sciences):

"Comparative systems pharmacology of HIF stabilization in the prevention of retinopathy of prematurity," by George Hoppe, Suzy Yoona, Banu Gopalan, Alexandria R. Savage, Rebecca Brown, Kelsey Case, Amit Vasanji, E. Ricky Chan, Randi B. Silver, and Jonathan E. Sears

Class V (Behavioral and Social Sciences):

"The emergence of longevous populations," by Fernando Colchero, Roland Rau, Owen R. Jones, Julia A. Barthold, Dalia A. Conde, Adam Lenart, Laszlo Nemeth, Alexander Scheuerlein, Jonas Schoeley, Catalina Torres, Virginia Zarulli, Jeanne Altmann, Diane K. Brockman, Anne M. Bronikowski, Linda M. Fedigan, Anne E. Pusey, Tara S. Stoinski, Karen B. Strier, Annette Baudisch, Susan C. Alberts, and James W. Vaupel

Class VI (Applied Biological, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences):

"Timing and causes of mid-Holocene mammoth extinction on St. Paul Island, Alaska," by Russell W. Graham, Soumaya Belmecheri, Kyungcheol Choy, Brendan J. Culleton, Lauren J. Davies, Duane Froese, Peter D. Heintzman, Carrie Hritz, Joshua D. Kapp, Lee A. Newsom, Ruth Rawcliffe, Émilie Saulnier-Talbot, Beth Shapiro, Yue Wang, John W. Williams, and Matthew J. Wooller


PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific journals. It covers the biological, physical, and social sciences and mathematics and publishes cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. PNAS is published daily online in PNAS Early Edition and in weekly issues. Newly published papers are listed at

For more information about PNAS or the NAS, visit or

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.