News Release

Distinguished members of The Optical Society named National Academy of Inventors Fellows

Honor recognizes academic inventors whose work has had broad societal impacts

Grant and Award Announcement


WASHINGTON--Eleven Fellows of The Optical Society (OSA) will join the ranks of the National Academy of Inventors, a professional distinction accorded to academic inventors whose inventions have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development and the welfare of society.

OSA Fellows are the Society's highest-ranking members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics. An OSA Senior Member and Individual Member have also been named 2018 NAI Fellows.

"The significant scientific and technical achievements of OSA members are underscored by the 13 who have been named 2018 NAI Fellows," said OSA CEO Elizabeth Rogan. "We congratulate them for being selected for this distinction."

NAI is a member organization comprising universities, governmental and non-profit research institutes worldwide. NAI Fellows represent a variety of fields including laser photonics and computer sciences. The more than 1,000 NAI Fellows to date have generated some 11,000 licensed technologies and companies, and created more than 1.4 million jobs, according to NAI.

The 2018 Class of NAI Fellows includes:

OSA Fellows

  • Rodney C. Alferness, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Harrison H. Barrett, The University of Arizona
  • Federico Capasso, Harvard University
  • Constance J. Chang-Hasnain, (2019 OSA Vice President) University of California, Berkeley
  • Tayyaba Hasan, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School
  • Bahram Javidi, University of Connecticut
  • Hongxing Jiang, Texas Tech University
  • Thomas L. Koch, The University of Arizona
  • Aydogan Ozcan, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Costas M. Soukoulis, Iowa State University/Ames Laboratory
  • James M. Zavislan, University of Rochester

OSA Senior/Individual Members

  • George T. Gillies, University of Virginia
  • Ted L. Maddess, Australian National University

The 2018 NAI Fellows will be inducted April 11, 2019, as part of the Eighth NAI Annual Meeting in Houston, TX. Andrew Hirshfeld, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Commissioner for Patents, will deliver the keynote address for the induction. Fellows will receive a special trophy, medal and rosette pin.


About The Optical Society

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit

Media Contact:

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.